266 firmware much better signal strength

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by italyguy01, Feb 23, 2013.

  1. italyguy01

    italyguy01 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    I been using 270 firmware, and I just switched to 266, I get a very noticeable gain in signal strength and speed.

    Anyone Else? It is like 270 is flawed.
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. bnadji

    bnadji New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    I moved to 270 the first day it came out. I noticed the same speed degradation you've outlined and moved back to 266. I must confess my experiments to determine speed was adhoc and not carefully managed across 266 and 270 so the results are anecdotal. So many parameters could influence the result and those parameters were not common when I was measuring across 266 and 270. With no time for additional experiments I have since moved to 270.24 (Merlin) and got back to normal. I haven't looked back.

    Brad
     
  4. italyguy01

    italyguy01 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    I like Merlin's version better as well, I am a strong supporter of Merlin.

    I have tried the 270.24 but same as regular 270 with regards to signal strength.

    I am using 266 now. I did notice that on version 266, you can see differences when you adjust the mw output, where in 270, you don't.

    But even so, using both at 80mw, 266 has much better distance/signal strength and speed.
     
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,345
    Location:
    Canada
    According to a survey I held back at the time, the driver Asus used in 246 and 260 caused stability issues for one person out of two. That was why I was still using the build 220 driver for quite some time.

    The build 270 driver however has been better than 220 for the majority of users. Only two persons so far mentioned issues with it, so I suspect it has to do with their settings.
     
  6. italyguy01

    italyguy01 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    If I keep the same exact settings for 270, and roll back to 266, 266 has a much better signal strength and speed.
    Especially on the 5ghz side.

    So I highly doubt it is settings if none of the settings have changed between the two.

    I also can see noticeable difference when changing the mw power output with 266, where 270 there is no change.
     
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,345
    Location:
    Canada
    That doesn't mean anything. For example, it could be that a feature you have enabled didn't work in previous builds, and it does in build 270, creating an issue as this feature should be kept disabled for your particular environment.

    Otherwise, there would be far more users having problems. Right now, there are fewer reports of problems with 270 than there was with 260.
     
  8. italyguy01

    italyguy01 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Interesting, but what feature could cause a huge drop in signal strength with 270?

    It was another user that I read about the 266 being much stronger signal.


    Anyone else?
     
  9. italyguy01

    italyguy01 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    I'm sending my RT-AC66U back. They are sending a replacement. Tech Support thinks there may be an issue with my unit.

    It is a shame, cause I think this unit has potential, but is very buggy.
     
  10. SeattleScott

    SeattleScott New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
  11. italyguy01

    italyguy01 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Good thing I saved a copy, and you can also use Merlin's 266.23B copy!
     
  12. SeattleScott

    SeattleScott New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
  13. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,345
    Location:
    Canada
    266.23b was using the wireless driver from Asus's build 220 BTW.
     
  14. SeattleScott

    SeattleScott New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    260 or 266?

    Did you notice any differences between power adjustments on the 260 firmware?
    I am using the 260 firmware but changes to the Tx have ZERO effect on output (using inSSIDer to measure).
     
  15. italyguy01

    italyguy01 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    I bet you they did pull it because I have been working with tech support on issues with 270.

    260 firmware, ABSOLUTELY had control over transmit power, I could verify this definitely.

    270 makes no difference when you adjust mw power.
     
  16. DaveMishSr

    DaveMishSr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    San Diego
  17. bluepoint

    bluepoint Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    419
    It's there now.
     
  18. italyguy01

    italyguy01 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    I emailed the tech I am working with and asked him where it went, and bam its back! LOL
     
  19. italyguy01

    italyguy01 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Tech Support emailed me and said they are aware and confirmed the Signal Strength issues, as well as 2.4ghz performance issues in 270.

    They said it will be addressed and fixed in the next firmware update, and he recommended I continue to use 266.
     
  20. cfdenice

    cfdenice Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    13
  21. bodean

    bodean Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    243
    Anyone have a link to where a user can find this 266 FW?
     

Share This Page