Adding Dynamic DNS Support - NameCheap

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by JRusso, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. JRusso

    JRusso Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,709
    Location:
    Canada
    No plan to add additional DDNS services, sorry.
     
  4. TheNexus

    TheNexus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Is there a specific reason why not? Because custom DDNS configuration is pretty much the only major feature that's I'm missing from the firmware.

    Please refer to how DD-WRT has their DDNS section setup and then the firmware would be perfect!
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,709
    Location:
    Canada
    Priorities. Developing and implementing that kind of feature takes time, which I prefer to devote to other features, otherwise I could make it a full-time job just trying to implement every single DynDNS services that gets requested (and actually, I don't understand why so many of them exist when they all do 90% the same thing, just with different names and proprietary protocols).

    Also note that DD-WRT uses a completely different DDNS client than Asuswrt (inadyn instead of ez-ipupdate).

    Look at either DNS-O-Matic (which can let you transparently use DDNS services not supported by the router), or installing a different DynDNS client through Optware/Entware.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  6. got_milk

    got_milk Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    If DD-WRT has it, then why not use DD-WRT if you're so desperate for it?
     
  7. TheNexus

    TheNexus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but DD-WRT doesnt work on the RT-AC66U yet...?
     
  8. TheNexus

    TheNexus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the quick reply!

    I understand priorities... I didn't mean implementing every single one, just opening it up to custom settings by letting users specify DYNDNS Server, User Name, Password, Host Name, and URL.

    But i'll definitely look into those services you listed... thanks!
     
  9. levp

    levp New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    DNS-O-Matic

    I use www.dnsomatic.com (from OpenDNS) with NameCheap.
    Host name in this case is all.dnsomatic.com, and you can configure NameCheap settings in your DNS-O-Matic account.
     
  10. rescapind

    rescapind Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    I also really appreciate if you can include namecheap DDNS with the firmware.
    Thanks.
     
  11. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,709
    Location:
    Canada
    My previous answer in this thread still stands.
     

Share This Page