What's new

Advice for connecting a shop (metal ext)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

TerryB

New Around Here
I'm might go all over the place with this post so please bear with me. I have very little networking experience save putting in a wifi router. I was hoping to get some advice. I have a large shop (metal ext) about 200ft from my house. WiFi won't penetrate shop walls and powerline adapters didn't work so I was thinking of running Cat5/6 or coax. Primary goal is 1 connection in the shop for a PC (that I can occasionally switch with an XBox for updates). Secondary goal would be to have a wireless router so I can connect multiple devices.
My current network is very basic: Comcast Xfinity service --> Motorola Surfboard SB6121 Modem --> Linksys E2000 Wireless router

Is this a good MoCA candidate?
If so, what kind of equipment would I need?
Where would I split connection to get network in shop?

If not and Cat5 is the better option, could I just run from my Linksys? That seems like it's too simple.
If I run Cat5/6, what kind of equipment would I need to term the connection in the shop?

If you run Cat5e or higher, all you need at the other end is an inexpensive switch to connect it to. This switch will then connect anything else you want in the shop including an AP for wireless connectivity.

The biggest issues you will face though are voltage delta's between the two buildings that must be taken care of properly (hire a professional), using the proper type of outdoor (buried) cable in the installation and of course, the installation itself (the trench between the two buildings).