What's new

Advice on dual band repeater

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jtp10181

Ok, little background. I know what I am doing, and very technical. I have a networking degree if that says anything.

Have an Asus Ac56r router and love it.

Building I live in is very over saturated with 2.4 ghz. About 20ft from the router through 2 walls I can barely get 1mpbs at peak hours. Get up to around 8 Mbps I think when everyone else is at work and school. Already tried all the usual tricks with channels and router settings. This is as good as it gets.

I have everything switched to the 5ghz band which works awesome, except two devices that are only 2.4ghz

I want to setup a repeater that will talk to the main router only on 5ghz but then broadcast two different unique SSIDs, one for each band. It will be very close to the two 2.4ghz clients (chrome casts).

I have not found any wifi extenders that will do this, so I think I need a second router.

I think this could be done with the ASUS firmware if configured right. I am thinking about getting a small router I can wall mount in one of the bedrooms so it's out of the way.

Looking for advice or suggestions please.

I know I will sacrifice bandwidth with a repeater but the 5ghz has plenty of speed to work with, if I can even pull 10mbps consistently it will be plenty.

Maybe it would just be cheaper to ditch the chrome casts and upgrade to something that can do 5ghz....

I still need a repeater to get the 5ghz to the far ends of my place but I have a cheap linksys that works decent for that, just wish I could change the SSID and channel on the repeated network, it only lets you mirror it with almost no settings.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk