Any possibility for built-in DNS server?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by asuswrt, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. asuswrt

    asuswrt New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I have FIOS and provided Actiontec MI424WR router.

    This particular router has a very nice feature - DNS server. It is integrated with DHCP server, so when new client connects - it either provides a host name or router assigns "new-hostNN" to it. Then admin can change DHCP lease to static and update host name to be used for this MAC. All DHCP assignments are automatically reflected in built-in DNS server. In addition, Admin can add any custom entry to the DNS(like in hosts file: IP name). Local DHCP also has local domain name (RT-N66U also has it).

    It is great feature as it makes LAN more peer-to peer friendly and helps in managing local connections. All external DNS requests are forwarded to the DNS servers assigned by the WAN.

    PS. I was able to find some old post about DNS on this forum. It seems the answer is dnsmasq.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2013
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,104
    Location:
    Canada
    That's exactly what dnsmasq does by default. it will resolve local queries, and will forward the other queries to your ISP's DNS.

    Code:
    >nslookup camelot
    
    Server:  www.asusnetwork.net
    Address:  192.168.10.1
    
    Name:    camelot.lostrealm.lan
    Address:  192.168.10.100
    
     
  4. saintdev

    saintdev Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    129
    It sounds more like OP wants a DHCP assigned hostname (automatically assigned and/or static), that is also automatically entered into DNS.

    Most likely this is correct. I would be surprised if dnsmasq couldn't do this. You should have a look at the dnsmasq man page and dnsmasq.conf.example. You will have to configure this manually (most likely via hosts.add, dnsmasq.conf.add and possibly some custom scripts), there won't be any web UI for it.
     
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,104
    Location:
    Canada
    That's precisely what the example I posted was. My desktop called Camelot requests a DHCP lease from the router, supplies the "camelot" name, and dnsmasq adds it to its internal host database, appending the LAN domain configured on the router. Resolving my desktop's hostname returned the FQDN and IP I posted. Same for a reversed lookup:

    Code:
    C:\Users\Merlin>nslookup 192.168.10.100
    Server:  www.asusnetwork.net
    Address:  192.168.10.1
    
    Name:    Camelot.lostrealm.lan
    Address:  192.168.10.100
    
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  6. saintdev

    saintdev Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    129
    Fair enough, it just looked like you were just showing that local DNS worked. You didn't mention the hostname was DHCP assigned.
     
  7. Atoshi

    Atoshi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    6

Share This Page