What's new

Are my NAS goals realistic?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

pahbi

New Around Here
Thanks in advance for any insight provided.

This is what I currently have:

- HTPC connected via USB3 cable to a 4 bay non-raid external HD.
- Hard drives are formatted NTFS.
- I'm beginning to run out of storage space.

This what I would like to be do (I know how to do this part):

- Build a NAS box out of spare parts.
- I ordered a few hard drives to help in transferring data if necessary.
- Install hard drives.
- Copy data from NTFS drives to EXT3 drives.
- Use Ubuntu Desktop and create shared drives via samba (sorry, but i'm a linux novice)
- Watch movies on the HTPC via Windows Media Center from the shared folders.

The part I need help with is this:

- I would like to also have android and IOS devices be able to play music, movies, view pictures and read books from files on the NAS.
- Should I raid or would it be simpler just to keep the drives as separate volumes?

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
- P

The parts that you need help with (ios and android device compatibility) suggests to me to get an off the shelf solution vs. a diy one.

QNAP and Synology are the two top solutions to consider for what you need.

It's been a while, and I don't see a lot of replies, so as a fellow Windows user, I can tell you what *I* did for a NAS / media playback solution.

Firstly, I run a WHS2011 system. This provides Windows client backups (full system backups that can be restored through a LiveCD WHS comes with). WHS2011 isn't required for the rest of my setup -- any version of Windows would work, you'd just lose the client backup (without another solution).