What's new

Asus AC3100 link aggregation

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Leonardo Pereira

New Around Here
I bought the Asus AC3100 router. In Asus product site was saying this:

Link Aggregation, More Devices Go Faster
RT-AC3100 features Link Aggregation, which combines two teaming LAN ports (the 1st and 2nd port) into one superfast wired connection for up to 2 Gbps using two Gigabit Ethernet cables. With Link Aggregation enabled on your NAS, clients can unlock unprecedented transfer speeds.

Im a noob about network and I thought that I could, somehow, use two cables connected to the router and to my pc with an adapter or something.

The only way to use link aggregation is if I have a NAS?

Sorry about my dumb question.

Thanks.

No, you can use LACP with any device that has two Ethernet ports that support it.

But do know that any one device won't be faster (that is not how Link Aggregation works). ;)

That's bullbird, if you're creative you can find ways to increase bandwidth per device.

That's bullbird, if you're creative you can find ways to increase bandwidth per device.

Please, show us how it's possible to exceed hardware limits. :rolleyes:

Please, show us how it's possible to exceed hardware limits. :rolleyes:

Oh nice, I seem to recall rolling my eyes before. Was this a ploy to get me back? Is that how petty this is?