What's new

Asus OpenVPN server security

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

LeoBloom

Occasional Visitor
Hello all,

Recently discovered that my RT-N66U has OpenVPN capability built in. I decided I would like to be able to tunnel all my traffic in public WiFi through my home router as well as access folder shares.

I have never worked with VPNs before and wanted to check about your thoughts for security
- Is the Asus OpenVPN implementation safe to use, or do you guys use any additional security features?
- Should I change the default port from 1194 to avoid port scanners?
- I noticed that 'admin' is a user on the OpenVPN that I cannot get rid of - does this mean I should change the router admin password to something only a password manager would remember? Or does the admin user not actually log onto the VPN

Thanks in advance

Asus's OpenVPN implementation should be fairly safe. It's not running the latest version of it, but I don't remember any critical vulnerabilities being fixed in recent years.

Changing port to a different one is indeed a good idea to reduce the amount of port scanning, which might fill up your logs.

The admin user is indeed "hardcoded" and cannot be disabled. Using a fairly secure password or at the very least changing the default username to something different should be safe enough.

Asus's OpenVPN implementation should be fairly safe. It's not running the latest version of it, but I don't remember any critical vulnerabilities being fixed in recent years.
I am not sure what version of OpenVPN is currently in use on the stock Asus firmware, but hopefully it's been updated to account for this vulnerability from June of 2017.