What's new

Asus RT-AC66U NTP failure; wrong time

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

c3k

Occasional Visitor
Folks,

I've got an Asus RT-AC66U. It has NEVER had the correct system time.

I'm running it in AP mode. However, I would think it should still be able to get/update the actual time. FWIW, it shows 1900 on December 31st, 2010 after any reboot.

No, I'm not an IT pro and am just a home user.

I've just upgraded to firmware 3.0.0.4.376.3626 since the notes in that one (or a previous) mentioned a fix to an NTP link failure.

That hasn't helped.

In Administration/System, the NTP Server has a URL, "ntp1.dlink.com" in it. If I select "NTP Link", a new tab opens up, but always times out, regardless of any URL in the window.

How do I manually set the clock?

How do I set the clock to automatically update?

Yes, I've read the manual...a lot.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Ken

Hi,
Also time zone, DST settings.

Thanks, but no joy.

When I change the ntp server to "pool.ntp.net" it will reset to "ntp1.dlink.com" as soon as a I change the view or otherwise unselect the server url window.

The field directly above the ntp server setting is "Time Zone". I have it set to "GMT-5".

The time is still not updating.

Will it update if the router is set as an access point?

Here's an edit:

Looking at System Log/General Log, the system time is Jan 01, 19:04:54 (and counting) 2011. Uptime is 1 day and 5 minutes. (That corresponds with my power cycle for the firmware upgrade.) The system time always defaults to Dec 31, 2010 (see my first post).