ASUS RT-N66U B1 stuck on firmware 3.0.0.4.220

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by RobertDeNiro, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. RobertDeNiro

    RobertDeNiro New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hi, there,

    Just got ASUS RT-N66U B1, which has firmware 3.0.0.4.220 on it. Actually even the sticker on the box indicates firmware 3.0.0.4.220.

    Tried updating the firmware and got this message although here I can find newer firmware versions: http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=RT-N66U+(VER.B1:
    [​IMG]

    Downloaded both version 3.0.0.4.246 and version 3.0.0.4.260 of ASUS RT-N66U B1 firmwares (source: http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=RT-N66U+(VER.B1)) and tried installing them manually and got this result:
    [​IMG]



    Could someone please explain me why my router ASUS RT-N66U B1 is stuck on firmware 3.0.0.4.220 ? Maybe there's another way to "push" the newest firmware on it ?

    I had no issues whatsoever with my previous asus router (RT-N56U) in respect of firmware updates through asus router utility.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. got_milk

    got_milk Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    See KevTech's post below before reading mine!

    That's quite odd. I've never seen a firmware fail to flash like that.

    You can put the router in emergency mode (power off the router, and then power it on while holding down the reset button until the power LED blinks slowly).

    From there, you can either use the emergency web interface (set your computer to use a static IP of 192.168.1.x or greater) and flash (I would clear NVRAM from that page as well), or use the Firmware Recovery tool on the CD that came with the router.

    I tend to use the web interface as the recovery tool has failed to flash firmware quite a few times for me, and the web interface has never failed yet, but either way should really work. Using the recovery tool will save you from having to use a static IP as well.

    Note that both ways will clear the NVRAM - which means you'll lose all your current settings. Make sure to back them up beforehand if you need to.

    Hope this helps.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2013
  4. KevTech

    KevTech Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    United States
    You are extracting the trx from the zip before uploading to router?
     
  5. got_milk

    got_milk Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Good catch! I didn't even think of that.
     
  6. mikeg

    mikeg Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Sweden
    Perhaps this does not work in the .220 f/w. You can manually download the f/w from Asus download site and save it on your pc, Then you just put in the saved and unzipped f/w path , location on your pc in the gui and start the update. You will have to wait for a couple of minutes when the update is complete and to be on the safe side then power off ( on the router. When you update use a wired connection to your pc.
     
  7. RobertDeNiro

    RobertDeNiro New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    f%ck what a shame :D I guess that auto message “no available updates” threw me off and so I kept uploading the zip before extracting. Thanks.

    Topic closed. Firmware has been updated!
     
  8. Pierino

    Pierino Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    462
    Location:
    Ohio
    Are you talking to me? Are you talking to me?
     

Share This Page