Asus RT-N66U hardware versions

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by Relentless, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. Relentless

    Relentless Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    I am looking to purchase an Asus RT-N66U, however I would like to know if there is different hardware versions available and if so is one better than the other.
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. joegreat

    joegreat Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Hardware Revisions of the Asus RT-N66U

    Hi,

    To my knowledge there it only one hardware version (revision) out there: B1
    Looking on the Asus support site for the RT-N66U, it confirms only B1 version.

    With kind regards
    Joe :cool:
     
  4. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,322
    Location:
    Canada
    The only revisions are minor ones done to the pcboard - they're otherwise all the same.
     
  5. Relentless

    Relentless Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for the replies.
    Hope its as good as my old Netgear WNDR3700v1. The only reason I need to replace is due to the WiFi no longer working. I did try a few different firmwares including 3rd party but the WiFi refuses to start working.
     
  6. joegreat

    joegreat Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Hi,

    I am sure that the Asus RT-N66U IS MUCH better then the WNDR3700v2 (I had the v2 version running DD-WRT). :D

    The main advantages I see are:
    - Much better WLAN coverage
    - Much better Optware (thru Entware) Linux support
    - Much faster in processing Entware (even if the Broadcom CPU is the same)

    What I am not using, but still might be an advantage for you:
    - AIDisk (Asus Cloud implementation to share local discs data over the internet)
    - Download Manager (Torrent downloads)
    But be warned: Some people have serious problems with this two add-ons. :eek:

    With kind regareds
    Joe :cool:
     
  7. huotg01

    huotg01 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Montreal
    Even when going back to your initial fw, you have no signal at all on yours client devices and no error on your router ?

    GH
     
  8. RogerSC

    RogerSC Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,616
    I had the wireless die on a WNDR3700v1 as well. It just stopped working. Tried everything, the wireless was just dead. The only thing I didn't do is go beyond the 30-30-30 reset thing, when that didn't work after several tries, I just gave it up. Did not try tftp or serial line or whatever, I just decided that the wireless was dead and gave up on it. It worked very well for me for some time (couple of years), though, so I felt that I got a lot of value out of it.

    So it happens *smile*.
     
  9. Relentless

    Relentless Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for the replies.
    The wifi was dead even after using the wndr3700 restore feature, back to stock firmware. I tried openwrt, gargoyle and dd-wrt, but to no avail.

    I have had it for a few years and it was not new when I bought it.
    No error on router and nowifi broadcast from the 2.4Ghz
     

Share This Page