Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.266.23b is out

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RMerlin, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,007
    Location:
    Canada
    Howdy folks,

    Build 266.23b was published to Mediafire. This is essentially a maintenance release, fixing a couple of issues. Most notable:

    JFFS formatting now works properly on the RT-AC66U. The mtd-erase function will now properly handle bad blocks instead of failing once it encounters one.

    Per Device traffic monitoring would randomly stop working. Looks like the Netfilter traffic accounting module is not compatible with HW acceleration (aka CTF). CTF would frequently start bypassing the accounting rules, so no traffic was getting tracked. Now, enabling Per Device traffic monitoring will also disable HW acceleration. Sorry, there is no way around this, CTF is closed source.

    As usual, see the changelog for the details.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2012
  2. valerima

    valerima Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    71
    266.23

    looks like faster...
     
  3. RogerSC

    RogerSC Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543
    Interesting, I just downloaded this, and noticed that all the firmware versions there say "0 downloads". Just a detail, maybe I'm interpreting that wrong, but it would be nice to have that be the actual number of downloads...Maybe only the owner sees the real number of downloads?
     
  4. The Wizard

    The Wizard New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    To bad. I need the CTF for my connection. Without is the max throughput 120 Mbit/s, that's not enough for the 200 Mbit, I'm hosting a website and it needs the complete bandwith. Is it automatically disabled when you enable Per Device?

    Thanks for the new build!
     
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,007
    Location:
    Canada
    Mediafire doesn't update the public download counter in realtime.
     
  6. jsmiddleton4

    jsmiddleton4 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Thanks for all the work you do on these "custom" firmwares.

    Just installed it and will be playing with it the next few days.

    Currently my experience is Toastman's latest has some speed issues with the wireless channels over time. The longer the router is up, the more the wireless channels have issues. Maybe some kind of memory leak? When I reboot the router the wireless speed and connectivity is back to normal. In a day or so its back to slow and intermittent stalls.

    Merlin's does not suffer from this anomaly. For me Merlin's keeps my 2.4 and 5 ghz wireless devices happy.
     
  7. Dorus

    Dorus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If you use Firefox and go to the page Traffic monitor under Per device the words Real-time, Daily and Monthly are not visible anymore in this version.
     
  8. jsmiddleton4

    jsmiddleton4 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Mine show in the drop down box. Using Firefox 17.01.
     
  9. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,007
    Location:
    Canada
    So the fix for IE broke it for Firefox. And all this time Chrome has no issue with either ways of displaying it. Swell. <sigh>
     
  10. Dorus

    Dorus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm also using FF17.01. Just reinstalled the firmware: same result as before. It only works in IE and Chrome like Merlin says.
     
  11. bluepoint

    bluepoint Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    417
    I assume 220 wireless driver is on this firmware? Did not see it mentioned in the readme file?
     
  12. jsmiddleton4

    jsmiddleton4 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    I'm looking right at them in Firefox 17.01....
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Dorus

    Dorus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You haven't enabled Per device monitoring.
     
  14. jsmiddleton4

    jsmiddleton4 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Here's another with Firefox "About" screen as well.

    I'm sure it isn't working for you. As far as I can tell it is on my system.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,007
    Location:
    Canada
    I'll rebuild all main firmwares with a different ways to build the dropdown that should work fine with IE, Chrome and Firefox (at least it does for me). Removing the current builds for the time being, new ones should be up within the next hour.
     
  16. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,007
    Location:
    Canada
    He's referring to Per Device monitoring, which you don't have enabled based on your screenshot.

    I can also reproduce the issue here with Firefox 16.
     
  17. jsmiddleton4

    jsmiddleton4 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    "You haven't enabled Per device monitoring. "

    I hate it when that happens.
     
  18. RogerSC

    RogerSC Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543
    Happy that it works with Chrome and IE, good enough for me *smile*.
     
  19. jsmiddleton4

    jsmiddleton4 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    You mean like this?
     

    Attached Files:

  20. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,007
    Location:
    Canada
    Asus hasn't released any fixed driver yet, so no change there.
     

Share This Page