What's new

Backup of my Netgear R7800

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

LeKeiser

Hello,

I've been using a 7800 for two years at least (if not more) and I have zero problem with it, using the latest Voxel firmware.Really great firmware, the router is 110% stable.
My use is pretty simple. No VPN, I don't use the QOS. I have something like 30+ WiFi devices connected. My Internet link is 1GB/60MB and my Speedtest results validate that. Netflix/Prime work like a charm. I stream videos from my NASes 4K H265 with no lag, using cable with my Shield or WiFi with my iPads.
Really a great router.
But I would like to back it up in case something goes wrong. It's been more than 2 yrs, so you never know.
So I was thinking of getting another R7800, I would flash it with Voxel's firmware, and I would upload the configuration file of my actual R7800. I know that I would have configure again all my WiFi devices, but I would have to do that with any new router anyway. At least, with another 7800, if I have a problem with the power supply, then it would take a minute to be back online :)

Or would you get a more recent router? If so, which one? Something very stable... Was looking at the R9000, Voxel has a firmware available, so... Many comments on the Netgear routers are not great, I've noticed that when I was using only Netgear firmwares, there were new bugs everytime.

What do you think? What should I do? I was thinking about that last night, what would I do if my router broke down... How fast I could be back online, with all my devices connected...
The R7800 is about €180. The R9000 is way more, €390 :(

Thank you for your replies :)

You are overthinking this, IMO. :)