What's new

Belden Cat 6a Cable

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

pmokover

New Around Here
I’m planning to install Cat6a cable in a house that’s currently being renovated.

I have never used Belden brand cable before but it has been highly recommended. If you’ve had any experience with it (good or bad) please give me your feedback.

Also, what about shielded vs. non-shielded 6a? This is for a house in a residential neighborhood. Electrical noise from the usual household appliances but nothing commercial or industrial within a mile. I’m willing to spend the extra $ for shielded if it will really be an advantage but would rather avoid the extra thickness if it will not.

Thanks.

Peter

I’m planning to install Cat6a cable in a house that’s currently being renovated.

I have never used Belden brand cable before but it has been highly recommended. If you’ve had any experience with it (good or bad) please give me your feedback.

Peter

I use Beldin bulk cable here, and we also use them as one of our vendors in the data center - good stuff...

For normal house stuff - don't need shielded cable, and you might be ok with CAT5 in any event, depending on the lengths of the runs...

Quick Tip - don't run ethernet cable in parallel with electrical - if you have to cross, do it perpendicular...

I use Belden bulk cable here

Hi, blast from your past here.

Sfx, are still recommending Belden? It's about 3x the price of Monoprice cable, which by spec looks pretty good ("it looked good on paper!") I have used monoprice patch cables in the past and they have been fine.

For home use, about 4 100 foot runs to different rooms.

Also, keystone jacks, these would be Cat6: Monoprice, Belden Keyconnect, ICC HD, or do you have any recommendations?