Best router for 100Mbps Internet.

Discussion in 'Wireless Buying Advice' started by Shadow_Fi, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. Shadow_Fi

    Shadow_Fi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Hello everyone,

    I have small problem with my TP-Link TL-WR642G Wireless Router.
    I have 100Mbps Internet connection using my CISCO EPC3000 cable modem, but my router cant use whole internet speed, because it is slow.

    On screenshot, i tested my connection without router, and with it.

    [​IMG]

    Anyway, as i understood, i cannot speed up my router. So I need to buy new one.

    If thats so, which router i should buy? I need FAST and CHEAP router with 300mbps n WIFI.

    I need Gigabit router? If my modem is 100mbit, will Gigabit router help me?

    As I noticed D-Link DIR-655 is fast, but its gigabit. How fast it will be on 100Mbps connection? It will use 100% of 100Mbps speed?

    Anyway i have Gigabit LAN in my PC so, i think it would be smart to get Gigabit Router.

    So which is cheapest and fastest router?
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. rickeo

    rickeo New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    With bandwidth like that, I would want some overhead, and since most routers only have 100Mbps WAN ports, I would want one with a Gigabit WAN port. All of the routers here have Gigabit WAN ports, aswell as at least a 4 port Gigabit LAN switch.

    I would probably get the D-Link DGL-4500 if it was me.
     
  4. Shadow_Fi

    Shadow_Fi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Well, if I would have enough money, i would choose DIR-855 coz its faster than DGL-4500.

    But in my case, 100 (+/-20e) euros is maximum.

    So is i noticed DIR-655 is pretty fast, and has 3 antennas, etc. and is cheap.

    Also there is DIR-825 but, it harder to find, and it is Faster than DIR-655, but not much. It also has only 2 antennas.

    So i wold say, DIR-655 vs DIR-825 vs XXX.

    Any TIPs?

    BTW.. How i can know, is DIR-655 A1, A2, A3 or A4... In Internet shops there is no info about that. Do they look exactly same? Is it written somewhere on the box? How can i make sure before buying that I am buying A4?
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
  5. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,551
    Give yourself 10% margin on throughput. So with 92 Mbps down you need a router with only 101 Mbps throughput. Getting anything more than that doesn't make your connection any faster.

    Only way to know the rev level of D-Link product is to look on the box. I don't know of any reason to restrict yourself to getting rev A4.
     
  6. Shadow_Fi

    Shadow_Fi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Yes i agree with you. But Gigabit is good if i connect 2 PCs to router, and send movies.

    A4 is good to buy, coz it seems that they all are same price, and for same money I would like to choose best of them. A4 I mean.

    I have 1 PC, and 2 laptops home. I am using Internet almost Non-stop.

    What I need is fast enough, cheap, a reliable router. Also if I am paying for router from 60-100, i would like to have n standart and gigabit for a future, so i dont need to buy again new router next year.

    So as i understood, cheapest, fastest and the most reliable router is DIR-655. Am I right?

    P.S
    And USB is cool feature. Coz here we have 3g almost everywhere, and looking for a future, USB would be cool to have in router directly to share 3G USB modem.

    P.P.S
    Btw, is it possible on DIR-655 to share USB 3g modem, on many computers? Like in my situation, with one wired, and 2 WIFI connections. Will they all be able to use that 3G internet? Or only one of them?
     
  7. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,551
    The DIR-655 A4 isn't better than other revisions, just different, mostly for manufacturing cost-reduction reasons.

    Don't count on using the USB port to connect a 3G USB modem. D-Link hasn't really implemented that feature very well and may not in the future.

    The DIR-655 is a reasonable choice.
     
  8. Shadow_Fi

    Shadow_Fi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Well, is there some other router wich is almost as fast as DIR-655, also has USB, and same price?

    Or is the DIR-655 really best choise for me?

    What about Linksys, Netgear etc?

    Maybe im annoying, but i really want to choose best for 100 euros.
     
  9. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    If you go with DIR-655 need to get the A3 hardware version. LINKSYS WRT-610N 64MB of RAM is good or WRT-310N 300MHz NPU 16MB of RAM. Netgear WNR-854T was good but it has issues with heat, also it was the best one they made 500MHz NPU, 32MB of RAM, 8MB for Flash, WNPU has 8MB Buffer but the chipset is a mix bag from Marvel Gig switch, Marvel NPU, Marvel WNPU, TXI and a few others..
     
  10. Shadow_Fi

    Shadow_Fi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    At least A3? Or A3 exactly?

    Which would you personally recommend?
     
  11. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    DIR-655 A2 hardware
    http://pic19.picturetrail.com/VOL1099/4465559/21344768/355438237.jpg

    DIR-655 A3 hardware better hardware I have this one..
    http://pic19.picturetrail.com/VOL1099/4465559/21344768/354191039.jpg

    DIR-655 A3 with a modded TP-LINK 300 MiniPCI (this one I did on my own)
    http://pic19.picturetrail.com/VOL1099/4465559/21344768/354191047.jpg

    DIR-655 A4 hardware is made to reduce cost like Tim said above..
    http://pic19.picturetrail.com/VOL1099/4465559/21344768/355439043.jpg

    I recommend going to the store and look at the box it will tell you what hardware version is included (A3). If you order online they're not going to tell you it's like pot luck.
     
  12. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,551
  13. Shadow_Fi

    Shadow_Fi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thank you! Really nice info to know.

    Btw, Is it possible to Share USB 3g modem on all PCs at home? Or only on one?

    Coz i saw on some forum that 3g usb sticks work on DIR-655 on last firmware. But i just didnt understand, is it working as a ALL PCs share?
     

Share This Page