What's new

Building a cloud

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Rickie

New Around Here
I am trying to find some information needed to build and host my own cloud servers. This information includes the equipment (hardware) needed, the amount of servers, best specs, routers, firewalls, switches, etc. I am looking to have it virtualized, maybe VMware, so I may not need that much host servers. As for the OS, I may decide to use a Linux.

The key is to be able to host the servers and data at my data center, and not use a third part company. I am new at this and will appreciate any assistance.

P.S, the cloud will be use mostly for file storage, and I will like my clients to be able to share these files with partners that may or may not be on the same network.

This is a pretty advanced topic and too broad to get any useful advice in a forum. The real question is why would you even think of doing this with so many cloud storage providers available, who would be happy to set up and run your private cloud.

Thanks for your response, thiggins. The reason for this is, we want to offer this as a service to our clients and also want to have control over the data that is being stored in the cloud. We work for financial institutions, and the information that will be stored is very sensitive.

Not nearly enough details to assist you. Need a better picture as to why you need to do this in-house, and what you already have in-house.