Building network for "small packet size data"

Discussion in 'General Wireless Discussion' started by SunTzu, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. SunTzu

    SunTzu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    My network have two propuse.
    1. Streaming HD Movie content
    2. Streaming Rendering.

    5GHz network won't work becouse singal can't penetrate floor. 2,4GHz is fine.
    -----------------
    I got paired DIR-655 with RT-N16 (client). I get speed around 1-2MB/s for streaming rendering and 9MB/s streaming HD Content.

    Problem is only rendering streaming!
    ------------------
    On Lan network streaming Rendering speed is around 20MB/s-40MB/s
    Lan is not possible since "woman" can't tolarate cables.
    ------------------
    I bought R6300 and RT-AC66U. Speed is around 60MB/s for streaming HD Content....
    1-2MB/s streaming Rendering
    ----------------

    How's that possible? I don't know... but...
    http://www.minipci.biz/80211n/WLE300NX/comparison_93xx.jpg
    I think mental ray streaming a lot small packeges.

    Is there any possiblity to make good wireless network that will give me 4-8MB/s for streaming rendering
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,490
    Location:
    San Diego
    re: Lan is not possible since...

    Did you consider alternatives to wireless such as HomePlug or MoCA?
     
  4. SunTzu

    SunTzu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Yes and ofc yes... As I said wireless is only option.

    My electric network is based on aluminium on upper floor. So singnal have to go from upper floor to basement with aluminium cables and than up to ground floor with copper cable. Distance around 40-50m. Really bad conditions for PLC.

    And based on that picture www.minipci.biz/80211n/WLE300NX/comparison_93xx.jpg there is possibility that network will not have good performance since I don't know what is minimum packet size for full speed (I do not know even if this is my network limit)

    MoCA mean cables I don't have cable TV at every room. My TV is based on wireless network and HTPC:)

    If I put a cable "my woman" will say put it to the wall... Not a problem for me. When I do it she will said that it have to be flat and plain as the wall... And that for me it's not possible. It's more about her psyche even if it will be she will subconsciously know that it's not good enought...
    ... so I will have to call for painter that he will paint and smooth whole wall, and she will order him to do that 3-4 times...
    ... and after that she will tell me for next few years that we spend a lot of money for room that looks not good enought for her.

    300$ is a price for peace that I'm willing to spend
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013
  5. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    Are you in the USA? If not what's type of Wireless Routers can you get? Can you get the ESR600H this would fit your build and get your enough Wireless Streaming into Rooms you can't run Ethernet or Moca RG6 coaxal cables into.

    Stream media right through cement blocks walls with ESR600H 2.4GHz also dual band I don't use that just 2.4GHz no issues. I use a SONY SMP-100 100% WiFi via 1080p. Look at over 100 feet away.

    This is another option. Everyone setup is going to be much different.
     
  6. SunTzu

    SunTzu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    I'm from Poland (EU). EnGenius is not popular here,
    There is NO PROBLEM with streaming HD content. Problem is streaming rendering.

    On LAN I get 60-250mbps... On WiFi I get 10-25mbps. 8-10 times less performance.
    Streaming HD Content I get 480mbps on WiFi at best localization. Problem is that in same ROOM I get only 25mbps when streaming rendering.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013
  7. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,490
    Location:
    San Diego
    doing HD1080 on WiFi is usually disappointing because the laws of physics and spectrum sharing make wireless inconsistent.
     
  8. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    Just to see where you are at now I can see what your doing. What device are you getting lower mbps on say Wifi Media Player or something. What else do you have in this room beside WiFi. Electric Power Module Boxes outside or nearby. Do you have anything to measure and monitor WiFi Quality? Where did you place your WiFi router is it near your HDTV or under or next to it?

    Streaming rendering are you seeing micro blocks or distortion, freezing, jitter voice and video sync issues.
     
  9. SunTzu

    SunTzu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    You don't understand... HD Content streaming is perfectly fine!

    rendering mean=
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kxoNO3hZbd0

    Scene from ram is sending through the wireless network with speed 16mbps while HD Movie 480mbps. If I get 480mbps while sending big file I think you can say that quality is really good. Yes I can measure quality with DD-WRT, all thing say that is really nice one.

    No such thing... just waitng 10minutes to send scene that rendering at 5-8minutes on local computer.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2013
  10. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida

    I know what rendering means, but which you needed to explain what you were referring too when you mean rendering. Now that you have explained your side of it. I can continue now..

    Oh your using DD-WRT firmware to improve on your WiFi Router hidden features that are disabled by default my the router maker.

    So your using DIR-655 which hardware version are you using and what firmware is on there now. As you know that the DIR-655 is limited to RAM and CPU. The other one your using I take it is your main WiFi Router or now. Explain more here.

    What type of PCs you have when it comes to CPU, RAM, HDD RPM Speed what are you dealing with?
    What format is this in?
    You posted a link to CAD Animated Object is that what your doing?

    WiFi transfer of huge files can be slow, what size is this files?
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2013
  11. SunTzu

    SunTzu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    I'm using maya @ mental ray satelite system.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JBCZ1ZKGeRg

    I am using DD-WRT to set RT-N16 as Client Bridge to my HTPC. For now I'm using RT-AC66U for router and used R6300 for lient Bridge.

    I test a lot of configurations.
    1. DIR-655 Router-> N16 client
    2. RT-ac66u Router-> R6300 client
    3. R6300 router -> RT-ac66u

    On router CPU usage is at 10% and 75% free RAM.
    On each configuration I gave got speed from 12-16mbps while streaming Rendering.
    While streaming HD content
    1. 54mbps
    2. 144mbps (at same room 480mbps)
    3. 120mbps (at same room 440mbps)

    Only on RT-n16, R6300

    A3 revision. Now I got RT-ac66u as main router... same speed.


    Workstation 2500k, 12GB ram, everything is on ram
    HTPC FX-8320 4GB RAM
    Laptop i7 IB, conected by LAN 10GB RAM


    No... there were not mine.
    No Huge file are fine. I can send 1GB file at 30s at AC speed....
    Streaming rendering taking about 5-10minutes and that's a problem
    I have no idea if mental ray file are big or small. I know that sending them through wlan is 10 times slower than lan. While sending HD Content have same speed at AC connection
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  12. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    That software link via YT seems to have a lot of others having rendering issues. That's Data. Two choices is either you run Ethernet from where ever you wired router from base and you can run Ethernet outside the house the cable can take up to -1F for you the -xx c since you don't use F measurement. Gigabit to handle more data for rendering these cad drawing. This is option. WiFi load on these data rendering of huge cad drawings might require more from the hardware you have right now. Some WiFi Routers are better than others. DIR-655 wasn't made for such task. The A3 hardware is what I was using for a very long time. It's limited.

    If you got a older home built in 1700 to 1900 era or something modern as you didn't say which one you have. Got work around this. I use to live in house built in 1920 with underground garage, attic some hidden room. Ran the Ethernet cable outside through vents and back in from the Window. Temp range from 100F to -1F no issues. Also RAN 3x WiFi AP to manage the WiFi. Those results are posted on SNB and on my ATZ http://androidtabletzone.the-talk.net/c12-home-networking-discussions for LAN stuff.
     
  13. SunTzu

    SunTzu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    I said few times... I do not have DIR-655 for now... For now I got RT-AC66U... "the best router" on the market...

    Not even a little improvemant. Why? What's a limit? CPU of the router is free, ram 70-90% free, just 100 connections. Streaming movies 8-10 times more perfomance so bandwidth is not a limit.
    Still crapy performance as hell
     

Share This Page