Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Cant connect iOS device to wifi when WAN is down

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by ilium007, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. ilium007

    ilium007 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    I noticed this tonight on a clients home router. When the WAN interface is down I couldnt connect an iPhone to the wifi network:

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1357741180.842938.jpg

    So I could authenticate normally to the wifi network but then it pushed me to this log on page (for what reason I have no idea). I wanted to connect to the internal wifi to stream music to a wired network device and dont know why I was being prompted with this Asus page.

    Any ideas ?

    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2013
  2. guipel

    guipel Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Brazil
    Same behaviour here.
    This is annoying because we could connect iOS apps to some services on local network.

    However, I guess this is more related to iOS to Asus router.

    Waiting for the experts... :)
     
  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    19,735
    Location:
    Canada
    Asus did some iOS-related fixes about Internet detection with 3.0.0.4.266 (only available for the RT-AC66U at this time). You could try my firmware for the RT-N66U, which also includes those iOS fixes they did.
     
  4. ilium007

    ilium007 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    I have been running your firmware since day one on this RT-66U.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    19,735
    Location:
    Canada
    But have you upgraded to 266.23b?
     
  6. ilium007

    ilium007 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    No I hadn't sorry. I upgraded last night and the my dnsmasq.conf.add seemed to stop working so I rolled back. Will investigate further tonight.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    19,735
    Location:
    Canada
    The iOS fix is only in build 266.xx.

    Just tested dnsmasq.conf.add and it works fine here:

     
  8. ilium007

    ilium007 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Ok cool - I'll test again tonight.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     

Share This Page