Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

CFE Bootloader update necessary?

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by mensa, Nov 22, 2012.

  1. mensa

    mensa New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Hello,

    I bought a brand new RT-N66U today and flashed successfully that firmware using the Asus firmware restore tool: http://tomato.groov.pl/download/K26...ato-K26USB-1.28.RT-N5x-MIPSR2-102-AIO-64K.trx

    When I type "cat /dev/mtd0ro | grep bl_version" on the shell of the router it says:

    ***
    Tomato v1.28.0000 MIPSR2-102 K26 USB AIO-64K
    root@unknown:/tmp/home/root# cat /dev/mtd0ro | grep bl_version
    bl_version=1.0.1.2
    ***

    So I have an old bootloader, correct?

    But when I look in the webinterface overview page it says:

    ...
    Total / Free Memory 249.74 MB / 238.37 MB (95.45%)
    Total / Free NVRAM 64.00 KB / 38.33 KB (59.89%)
    ...

    So I am wondering what is correct now? Do I really have 64 KB NVRAM? Or is only the displayed value at my overview page wrong? (Maybe that value is hard-coded into the 64k firmware I installed?)

    How can I really determine if I have 64 KB or 32 KB of NVRAM?
     
  2. ryzhov_al

    ryzhov_al Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Russia
    Hi!
    NVRAM is an area in flash memory used both CFE (bootloader, like a BIOS on PC) and booted Linux.

    The modern stock firmwares, released on spring 2012 and later, uses 64Kb NVRAM in a Linux only. A CFE still not updated to use whole 64Kb.

    Please, do not update CFE if you unsure what it's for. You may brick a router.
     
  3. mensa

    mensa New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Ok, thanks.

    Can you please tell me, if I used the correct firmware version for my router model? And can I run it withoutht problems now also without updating CFE?
     
  4. mensa

    mensa New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Could anyone explain, which disadvantages one have without that CFE bootloader update?
    Or isn’t it necessary anymore when using that firmware i have installed?
     
  5. lfbb

    lfbb Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    183
    http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/showpost.php?p=50260&postcount=109
     
  6. mensa

    mensa New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thank you!

    Can you please tell me, if it is also possible to check the version of the Bootloader, when the original firmware is installed on a RT-N66U?

    I think I can connect by telnet. But which pass / username should I use and which command will show the version?
     
  7. lfbb

    lfbb Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    183
    The same you use to login into your router.

    - lfbb
     

Share This Page