Changing wireless power setting

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by boxst, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. boxst

    boxst Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    I am interested in upping the power output for 2.4ghz and (to a lesser extent) 5ghz wireless.

    The web interface (even on Merlin's custom firmware) seems to be restricted. Can it be changed elsewhere?

    Thanks for any replies,

    Steve
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. angelsevov

    angelsevov New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    originally posted here..

    http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?25929-NEW-ASUS-RT-N66U-ROUTER!/page18&


    Open telnet (you can turn it on in the administration of the router)
    before you do anything you might want to check this value and make note of it:
    nvram get pci/1/1/ccode
    To change to us:
    nvram set pci/1/1/ccode=US
    nvram set pci/2/1/ccode=US
    nvram set wl0_country_code=US
    nvram set wl1_country_code=US
    nvram set regulation_domain=US
    nvram set regulation_domain_5G=US
    nvram commit


    do a reboot and your router will allow 500mW for 2.4GHz and 250mW for 5.2GHz connections. ( now with new firmware releases u can change it to the max 200mW, 500 mW was before- long time ago"stupid ASUS")

    Please keep in mind that the US allows different network channels, especially for 5GHz:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels#5.C2.A0GHz_.28802.11a.2Fh.2Fj.2Fn.29

    to go back to eu mode is easy:
    nvram set pci/1/1/ccode=EU
    nvram set pci/2/1/ccode=EU
    nvram set wl0_country_code=EU
    nvram set wl1_country_code=EU
    nvram set regulation_domain=EU
    nvram set regulation_domain_5G=EU
    nvram commit
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
  4. got_milk

    got_milk Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    By how much do you plan to increase the power by? Higher output would mean a little more range but at the cost of increased radio noise, and subsequently lower throughput, so you could actually cut performance across the board by increasing the power output.
     
  5. boxst

    boxst Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Thank you for that. I can increase the 2.4ghz to 200mW now.

    I thought I was going crazy that I could set up to 500mW before but I guess as you say they changed the firmware. The validation is probably just I the webform so it can probably be overridden somewhere.
     
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,686
    Location:
    Canada
    Output power is enforced by the firmware itself based on your country, not just the webui. I suspect there is also further enforcement done at the driver level, but can't be sure (as it's closed sources).
     
  7. boxst

    boxst Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    23
  8. huotg01

    huotg01 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Montreal
    ...but remember that changing the settings "may" (or "may not") change the power setting on the router, but not on the client...Could result in no improvement because your lap/deskTop is still emitting at the same power level...

    Others could probably comment on this, but a solution could be to have more sensitive antennas ?
     
  9. Mark the Red

    Mark the Red Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Here is a thread on the subject by super router programmer Toastman:

    http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/tomato-signal-strength-low-any-ideas.33868/

    In brief, the US country regulation is a boolean variable that cancels out any and all modifications of the transmit power you make.

    Solution: Change country to Singapore and boost away. (Tomato only I think) Although it would appear with the e3000 that it is a case of diminishing returns as you up the power. YMMV

    [​IMG]

    Souce: Not me
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  10. RocketJSquirrel

    RocketJSquirrel Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    California, USA
    What is the factory default value for transmit power on the 2 bands of the RT-N66U? I've changed it a few times and lost track of the default. Thanks.
     
  11. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    673
    I have started inSSIDer and then varied the power settings both on my E3000 running Tomato and my N66U running Merlin's custom firmware.

    My test results are very similar to what you found. I currently have my ASUS 2.4 Ghz radio set at 85mw and if I go higher my dbm actually starts to decrease. My E3000 is set at 100.
     
  12. DrTeeth

    DrTeeth Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Higher output = increased radio noise? I would say it is quite the opposite. Could you please supply some references?

    TIA,

    DrT
     
  13. richto

    richto Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    There is no EU law that restricts WiFi transmit power, so you can legally set whatever you want.

    The only limit is on ERP, so you just need to use the power setting with an appropriate antenna....
     
  14. DrTeeth

    DrTeeth Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Power Levels

    In Europe at 2.4GHz we are limited by ETSI regulations to 20dbmW.

    That is 20dB gain above 1mW or 100mW Effective radiated power compared to an isotropic (0 gain) aerial. This figure includes the gain from the aerial and losses from cabling.

    So to calculate the EIRP of your system:
    EIRP=Output power of card or access point in dBm – cable loss in dB – connector losses in dB + aerial gain in dBi

    A typical card gives out +15dBmW so the largest aerial allowed is +5dB. However on a typical installation an +8dB aerial can be used as there is quite often a 3dB loss on the aerial cable.

    The exception to the above is France, where the maximum output power is limited to 7dBm (5mW EIRP) at 2.4GHz.

    Above from http://wireless.navigator.co.uk/index.htm.

    It's all slitting hairs unless some seriously directional antennas are going to be constructed,
     
  15. mikeg

    mikeg Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Sweden
    If I remember correctly 80 mW on both bands.

     

Share This Page