What's new

Choosing between Asus AC86U and MikroTik hAP AC

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Ganzo

New Around Here
So I'm quite new to the whole router business and my knowledge is very limited at the moment, so bare with me :)
My current router is a piece of s**t my ISP gave me and after a few years I've finally had enough and I want to set up my own proper router.
Got many recommendation on the MikroTik but couldn't grasp why is it superior to the Asus RT-AC86U.
On paper it looks like the Asus has better speed, better hardware, faster WiFi capabilities and it supports OpenVPN (even multi-client with Merlin's firmware).
Current stable MikroTik RouterOS doesn't support OpenVPN, v7 supports Wireguard but it's still in beta and who knows when it will even have a proper RC.
The price range isn't crazy different (at-least for me, not when I plan on getting a new router to last for years).
The setup process in MikroTik seems to be way harder than AsusWRT (merlin/non-merlin), though that's not an issue for me as I'm not the average user (programmer at day, gamer at night).

So... what are the advantages in getting a MikroTik hAP AC over the Asus RT-AC86U? (other stronger chipset routers by mikrotik just cost much than the asus)

Please enlighten me!

So I'm quite new to the whole router business and my knowledge is very limited at the moment, so bare with me :)
My current router is a piece of s**t my ISP gave me and after a few years I've finally had enough and I want to set up my own proper router.
Got many recommendation on the MikroTik but couldn't grasp why is it superior to the Asus RT-AC86U.