What's new

Correct Install order for Official and Merlin software updates

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

MarkNewToAsus

New Around Here
Hello Snb community !

I am new to Routers, Assus and Merlin, If i may I have a question for the community.

I understand how to locate and Install software both official and Merlin But in what order.......
I will be receiving my new RT-AC86U this morning here is what i am going to do, please correct me if I'm wrong.

1) Update the 86U with the official software update first through the 86U user control panel.

2) Then reset the unit to a default state

3) Then Install the Merlin software, the stable version 384.13 released August 1st 2019

Is this correct ? Thank you in advanced

Kind regards,
Mark

Just directly install Merlin and then reset defaults afterwards

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Just directly install Merlin and then reset defaults afterwards

Right, Merlin over whatever is there now works just fine. Then you'll want to install amtm, and use that to install Diversion.
Follow the yellow brick road, and you'll eventually make it to wonderland...or something like that ;)

Hello Snb community !

I am new to Routers, Assus and Merlin, If i may I have a question for the community.

I understand how to locate and Install software both official and Merlin But in what order.......
I will be receiving my new RT-AC86U this morning here is what i am going to do, please correct me if I'm wrong.

1) Update the 86U with the official software update first through the 86U user control panel.

2) Then reset the unit to a default state

3) Then Install the Merlin software, the stable version 384.13 released August 1st 2019

Is this correct ? Thank you in advanced

Kind regards,
Mark