dd-wrt x86 on pc....how to add wireless?

Discussion in 'General Wireless Discussion' started by Fawkesguy, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. Fawkesguy

    Fawkesguy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    [Solved] dd-wrt x86 on pc....how to add wireless?

    Hi there,

    I'm guessing this isn't complicated to do - I'm just not sure how to. I'm going to install dd-wrt on an old pc to handle dhcp and OpenVPN. For wireless, I've got a Netgear WNDR4000. I'm not exactly sure how to connect it to the network. eth0 on the pc will be the WAN port and will connect to the cable modem. Now the other NIC, eth1 - do I connect that to the WAN port of the 4000 or a LAN port? Do I set the 4000 to bridge mode? Again, I know this isn't rocket science - I just can't get it straight in my mind. :). Thanks in advance for the help.

    Guy
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2013
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,540
    Location:
    San Diego
    Now I'm confused. DD-WRT is firmware that one loads into certain WiFi routers. It's not PC software.

    Next: Your PC shouldn't connect directly to the cable/DSL modem. That's a big security risk. The router (as is usual) would go between the cable modem and all PCs, wired or wireless.

    The router single or dual band, would have one WAN port to connect to the cable modem.

    Or am I just misunderstanding what you wish to do?
     
  4. Fawkesguy

    Fawkesguy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Hi,

    dd-wrt also comes in an x86 version that can be loaded onto a pc which is what I'm going to do, so my pc will be a router. As an aside, my issue is that my WNDR4000, due to the encryption used by my VPN provider using OpenVPN takes my 50+ Mbps download speed and reduces it to about 5Mbps. It's a huge bottleneck.

    So I'm going to take an old pc, load up the x86 version of dd-wrt and run all the services (VPN, DHCP, firewall, etc.) that currently run on my WNDR4000. So what I'm not sure about is how to configure and integrate my wireless router into my network. Do I set it to bridge? Do I use its WAN port or one of its LAN ports to connect? Those are the things I need help with. I hope that clears things up.

    x86 dd-wrt: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/X86

    Thanks
    Guy
     
  5. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    Oh boy sounds like fun, but from what I use to do myself trying to run PC as a router always runs into some snags. If you like to experiment and have high hopes that promise of the software will do the job for you?

    Then good luck in your decision!
     
  6. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,540
    Location:
    San Diego
    what/where is the VPN server?
    Doesn't your PC create the tunnel to some distant end point?
    VPN would just pass through the router?
     
  7. Fawkesguy

    Fawkesguy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I'm using AirVPN and can connect to several different servers. Currently dd-wrt is running OpenVPN and my whole network goes through the VPN to access the Internet. Like I said, the slow processor in the router slows things down to a crawl due to VPN encryption overhead.

    Let's forget about the pc though. Let's imagine I have a network that has a router that's handling access to the Internet and DHCP. How do you add a wireless access point to that network? Set it up as a bridge? And which port will connect to the router - a LAN or WAN port?
     
  8. devnull

    devnull Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Access points go on the LAN ports. If you have a wireless router and want to turn that into an access point, go here:

    http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wire...onvert-a-wireless-router-into-an-access-point

    If you haven't already, check out Pfsense. It's a well built router package that installs onto a hard disk easier than a desktop OS. I've been using it for about 4 months now and I'm quite impressed by the variety of features. It also comes in variants that are made to install on embedded systems and flash drives.

    It's also got a large number of optional packages to add transparent proxy, proxy with antivirus, IDS/IPS, regional/blacklist blocking and a lot more.
     
  9. Fawkesguy

    Fawkesguy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thank you for that link, that is perfect! Since I have dd-wrt configured and running already on my wireless router, I'll try that first on my spare PC. I've heard a lot of good things about pfSense so maybe I'll check it out in a VM.
     
  10. Fawkesguy

    Fawkesguy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks again for the link. I've got dd-wrt running on a spare pc and my Netgear router is now just a simple access point, exactly as I wanted. :)
     

Share This Page