What's new

DDNS and my nightmares.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Fallen2Stealth

New Around Here
So, I have been trying to mess with DDNS lately. The problem is that I am wanting to update Google DNS. Now DD-WRT uses Inadyn which is completely useless as a solution because it does not support SSL.

(I know about DNS-o-matic. If I can not use SSL at my source it is a no go. Period. DNS-o-Matic is a band-aid to allow the use of insecure options instead of a solution for secure updating. Sorry, No.)

Now DDclient is available as Optware but that doesn't work on the RT-AC68U. I have to use Entware here. I understand that I could use a script for this kind of work but I am a Network Engineer not a programmer and the last script I wrote was in MS-DOS Batch about 15 years ago. I have no patience for scripting. I like good old conf files because they are easy for me to work with.

So... How do I get DDclient into Merlin? and does Merlin support MeshCentral? Those are the only two pieces of addon software that I care about. MeshCentral can be accessed from https://meshcentral.com/ and is a free service (In Alpha stage development) from Intel for supporting Intel AMT. (Yes there is an agent for routers that do not support AMT built in.)

This is all I really want Merlin to do is let me finally have these two things on my router. Yes I know where to get the source code for DDclient yes I know I can compile it myself so if your going to tell me to go that route please be prepared to talk me through it in small detailed steps... I have messed up 'make' 'make install' in the past.