What's new

Desperately need advice on upgrading my slow mixed network (SRP541W)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

walkabout

Occasional Visitor
Let me first start off that I'm not a network professional, so I may not understand some terminology. I only know what I researched over a decade ago, and was pretty limited to mostly consumer-grade products. That said, I need to upgrade my aged network. Below is what I have, and what I *think* I'm looking for. Your advice is much appreciated.

So, for current hardware/etc:

* COMCAST 1200 Mbps connection
* Motorola MB8600 DOCSIS 3.1 cable modem (1Gbps ethernet port - Motorola says "Downstream speeds up to 3.8 Gbps" - not sure how that's possible with only 1Gbps port)
* Cisco SRP541W (Four 1Gbps LAN ports, Two 1Gbps WAN ports, 802.11n)
* For my apartment/floor: 4-5 devices are wireless, 3 devices are wired. My tenant has their own number of devices.
* 3 wireless networks (mine, guest, one tenant apartment). Each floor/apartment (2, mine included) are plaster walls and 1300sqft.
* I use Macs and Linux machines. No Windows. I do have a HTPC, but all my media is local on that machine because I just can't stream anything on my network. I don't really stream video (Hulu/Netflix), but my tenant does!
* I use a couple outgoing VPNs (IPSEC) for both work and personal usage.