What's new

Do I really need (or want) a simultaneous dual band router?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

FyrFytr

New Around Here
Hello all!

This is my first time posting here, and I want to thank you all for the tremendous amount of info. that is provided on these forums and smallnetbuilder.com.

I really want a gigabit switch in my wireless router, and think that I should also have simultaneous dual-band capability. I've narrowed my choices down to a $100 refurbished Linksys WRT610N, or either of EnGenius' models, the ESR-7750 or the ESR-9850 ($50-$70).

I am going to move all of my routing equip. and my HP MediaSmart Homeserver that is currently upstairs in my office downstairs into my living room near my T.V. so that I can take advantage of wired networking speeds to my XBOX 360 and increase my wireless performance. I already have a dual-band wireless N adapter on my XBOX 360, but I don't think I can realize it's true capability with my wireless router upstairs and half way across my house. So, I'm gonna bring the MediaSmart downstairs, and probably just hook it up via the gigabit router directly to my XBOX360.

I'm under the impression that gigabit routing capability should be the primary concern here, and that simultaneous dual-band routing should be secondary. I'd like to have both, but finding a router than can do both effectively for less than $100 is nearly impossible.

-I have FIOS in my home.

-I live in a single family home, w/out much bleed over from my neighbors wireless networks.

-I have no home landline wireless phones to cause interference.

-I may in the future get the Sprint Airave (1900 mhz CDMA spectrum) running in my house to increase my mobile phone reception.