What's new

DS212 Intermittent LAN

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

TomOnSNB

New Around Here
Hi

A newbie here, so please be gentle ;-)

My DS212 started dropping its LAN connections a few days ago. It started as an intermittent problem that would occasionally be put right by a hard restart.

However, now LAN only comes online rarely, and then only for seconds to minutes before dropping out again. When it drops out, the LAN LED on the front panel goes dark.

My sense is that it is circuit board component related rather than anything in software/firmware. Can anyone point me to the RJ45 circuitry on the board, so that I can get my local wizard to check for continuity, dry joint(s) etc.?

Any pointers would help- An annotated circuit diagram would be brilliant.

Thank you.

Unless your "wizard" can resolder surface mount components, I wouldn't let him touch it. The Ethernet PHY is easy to spot, it is usually right near the LAN rJ45.

The problem could also be a bad cable or bad port on the device at the other end of the potentially bad cable.

Thanks Tim,

The problem is definitely with the DS-212. I've used multiple routers/switches and many different cables connecting to the DS, and it fails every times regardless of the cables/switches used. I was hoping to identify some of the circuitry that would impact/cause Intermittent LAN failure and have him assess for connectivity/ bad connections. As it is, the device is useless, so I'll have to leave it to him in the hope that he can make a difference. If he can't find a physical problem, he won't touch anything, allowing me to try and get my data off the device using a serial port or whatever.

Does a service manual exist for these devices?