What's new

Facetime Ports

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

gusz

New Around Here
I want to use Facetime on a Mac, which has a static IP on a local LAN behind my Asus RT-3200, which runs AsusWRT-Merlin v 380.61. Firewall is enabled on the router. According to Apple, this requires that the following ports be open:
  • 80 (TCP)
  • 443 (TCP)
  • 3478 through 3497 (UDP)
  • 5223 (TCP)
  • 16384 through 16387 (UDP)
  • 16393 through 16402 (UDP)
I believe this is done through WAN -> Virtual Server/Port Forwarding on the router. I'm not a complete novice, but I'm a bit out of my depth here .... a couple questions:

-Do I open all the ports above, or are some of them (or all of them) open by default?
-Do I make one entry for "Facetime Service" with all ports and port ranges, or multiple entries in the table
-What do I enter for "Local Port"?

Thx, Gus

I want to use Facetime on a Mac, which has a static IP on a local LAN behind my Asus RT-3200, which runs AsusWRT-Merlin v 380.61. Firewall is enabled on the router. According to Apple, this requires that the following ports be open:
  • 80 (TCP)
  • 443 (TCP)
  • 5223 (TCP)
I believe this is done through WAN -> Virtual Server/Port Forwarding on the router. I'm not a complete novice, but I'm a bit out of my depth here .... a couple questions:

-Do I open all the ports above, or are some of them (or all of them) open by default?
-Do I make one entry for "Facetime Service" with all ports and port ranges, or multiple entries in the table
-What do I enter for "Local Port"?

Thx, Gus

You should not have to open any incoming ports for FaceTime to work.

Direct from Apple... FaceTime/iMessage...

---------------------------------

If you use FaceTime and iMessage behind a firewall