What's new

First DIY NAS, looking for combo HTPC & 30 TB FreeNAS

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Mr. Bungle

Occasional Visitor
I'm new to FreeNAS, ZFS and RAID-Z, but I've been doing some research on a first build and would greatly appreciate some feedback.

My ideal system would be a combined HTPC and NAS box with up to 30 TB raw disk space, running Windows 7 and virtualized FreeNAS. I'm not sure if this is all possible - just an ideal that I'm shooting for. My budget is flexible - trying to stay on the cheaper end, but I don't want to skimp.

Here is the list of essential hardware that I've put together:

- Asus E25M1-M PRO motherboard (AMD Zacate E-350 APU, 1.6GHz dual-core) - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131697
- (8x) Hitachi Deskstar 0S03230 3TB 5400 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822145493 (will probably add 2 more drives within a few months to end up with 30 TB raw, ~24 TB in RAID-Z2)
- G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1333 (Model F3-10666CL7D-8GBRH) - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231402
- HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL SATA/SAS controller card - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816115100

Some notes about intended usage and concerns: