FW 3.0.0.4.270 at Asus download site

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by mikeg, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. mikeg

    mikeg Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Sweden
    I just noticed that Asus has released fw 3.0.0.4.270 at their download site :

    Version 3.0.0.4.270

    Description
    File Size
    22,24 (MBytes) 2013.01.29 update

    Nothing documented what is changed / updated or whatever.....

    Perhaps someone wants to try it ?
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. DaveMishSr

    DaveMishSr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    San Diego
    This is strange. There is no change log for this version. I am staying with Merlin's 266.23b-dw version for now.
     
  4. mikeg

    mikeg Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Sweden
    I am testing the Beta 3.0.0.4.321 so perhaps someone else is willing to try this firmware. I wonder why Asus has not written any change log for this one ?

     
  5. KevTech

    KevTech Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    United States
    There is FW 3.0.0.4.270 for the RT-AC66U and the RT-N66U but neither have a changelog.
     
  6. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    In for a penny, in for a pound. I just upgraded mine from .266; we'll see what happens.
     
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,338
    Location:
    Canada
    Recently I suspect Asus changed the way they publish updates. The same thing happened to the RT-N56U, where the update appeared on the website, but the changelog was only added a day or two later.

    And before someone asks... I don't know either what's changed, the GPL code usually takes a few more days before being available. I suspect it's just an interim update, while they still work on implementing the new wireless driver in the 3.0.0.4.3xx branch.

    One thing that probably works in this build is the support for using your tethered phone as if it was a 3G modem. That was already working (but unannounced as they were still working on it) a few versions back, I suspect it will make an official debut in this build.
     
  8. mikeg

    mikeg Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Sweden
    Well , now there is a changelog :

    Version 3.0.0.4.270

    Description ASUS RT-AC66U Firmware Version 3.0.0.4.260 <---- !!!!!!
    Fixed
    1. Parental control time shift issue in GMT-8 time zone
    2. Quick internet setting wizard connection issue in iOS platform
    3. Quick internet setting wizard login issue when multiple device connect to router at the same time
    4. Network place hyperlink issue on IE8 and IE9
    5. Live update related bug.

    Note that someone in the Asus company have problems related to which firmware version the changelog is related to....

     
  9. ChrisR

    ChrisR Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Netherlands
    RT-N66U shows full change log now:

    ASUS RT-N66U Firmware Version 3.0.0.4.270
    Fixed
    1. Parental control time shift issue in GMT-8 time zone
    2. Quick internet setting wizard connection issue in iOS platform
    3. Quick internet setting wizard login issue when multiple device connect to router at the same time
    4. Network place hyperlink issue on IE8 and IE9
    5. Live update related bug.

    Add
    1. Android phone USB Tethering suport. (For more information, please refer to http://support.asus.com/search.aspx?SLanguage=zh-tw&keyword=3G tethering )
    2. Select all in parental control
    3. Login password strength checker
    4. Show lease time at log
    5. Add hostname info for who is login
    6. YES ISP support in Malaysia
    7. More 3G /4G dongles support
     
  10. krum

    krum Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    I loaded it last night I am glad that the parental control issue is fixed every thing seems to run just fine

    Chris
     
  11. DeadHead

    DeadHead New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Does this mean that parental controls will now cut internet connection to already running applications like games and Skype as well?

    Because that's the main flaw for me right now, that the router allows certain types of connections to continue to run, despite passing the set time frame (with firmware 3.0.0.4.260).
     
  12. krum

    krum Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Yes, but there is a bug still if you modify the access then it block's all access regardless of time
    I am going to do more testing and try to wipe NVRAM and reconfigure to see if that fixes the issue

    Chris
     
  13. DeadHead

    DeadHead New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Parental control still doesn't work, it won't cut existing running connections like games and Skype. I wish it would just disable *all* traffic to the specified LAN IP and/or Mac address...
     
  14. nowknown

    nowknown New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Locked me up

    I tried to update from my ipad Safari. All seemed to go well until it asked me to manual reboot after 'sucessful' update. Put me right into recovery mode. Had to hook up to PC/Asus utility program to reinstall previous firmware.
     
  15. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,338
    Location:
    Canada
    Note that sometimes, the router will try to access the router too quickly after a flash. Asus has reduced the reboot delay on the RT-AC66U, but they made it a bit to short, so by the time the webpage reloads, the router is in the middle of the boot process (which leads to the MiniWEB page).

    Simply waiting 30 more seconds and reloading the page will fix it in such cases.
     
  16. nowknown

    nowknown New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks. I sorta understand, but, the router doesn't seem to reboot. The web page says, "update complete please manual reboot your router". So I did and then recovery mode.
     
  17. nowknown

    nowknown New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Hey, Merlin. Wanna take a crack at this thread?
     
  18. nowknown

    nowknown New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Merlin,

    'didn't realize you were such a rockstar nerd:). 'just flashed your firmware. Looks great. Love the led on/off. I'll hit you up on Paypal.
     

Share This Page