What's new

Help networking a school

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

gerlos

New Around Here
Hello,
I'm (re)building a network for a small school. As a Linux sysadmin, I don't have much hands-on experience with networking hardware (I usually step in once the metal is in place), so sorry if my questions might be trivial.

The school is in a single-floor, roughly T-shaped building, with concrete walls. There are 5 office rooms on the short side of the "T", and 4 big classrooms aligned in a row on the long side (building is approx 30 m x 60 m).
Current situation is messy and difficult to manage, so I'm going to replace most of the gear.

I'm asked to provide two wifi networks that should work everywhere. First one (let's call it "BackofficeWifi") should be used by both teachers and employees, that need to use network printers and a file server.
Second one should be used by students (let's call it "StudentsWifi") and should be able to use a second file server. Both groups of users should be able to surf the Net.

Rooms are already cabled with Cat 6 cables, connected to a 24-ports Netgear JGS524E managed switch, placed in a small room at the intersection of the "T", with the main file server that acts also as a DNS and DHCP server.

How would you setup this network?

I think we could get 4 or 5 wifi access points (one each 2 rooms), wire them to the switch, and setup them to broadcast two wifi SSIDs on two different VLANs - I've read that some AP can broadcast several SSIDs and put them on different VLANs.

Is this VLAN tech somehow "standard", or vendor-dependent? For example, current VLAN features on current Netgear switch will work with access points from other vendors?