What's new

HELP! Trouble setting up an ASUS RT-AC87U as media bridge to Hitron Modem/Router combo...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

rjl05001

New Around Here
I'm a newbie to the whole media bridge game (and this forum), and am in desperate need of some assistance. I have an ASUS RT-AC87U I'm trying to setup as a media bridge for my Xbox one. I currently have a Hitron Cable Modem/Router combo with a 1Gbps down/50 Mbps up, but wirelessly I wasn't getting the speeds I wanted with either the 87U or the combo, so I decided to try a media bridge. However, after disabling DHCP on the Hitron and following the steps to put the 87U in media mode, I'm not getting any internet connection via Ethernet LAN port after it goes through it's connection process to the 5Ghz channel. I keep running ipconfig/all to make sure all the settings matchup and they do. I've tried rescanning and resetting the connection, entering manual ip address/dns address, and letting the system try to automate everything but nothing changes the outcome (Unidentified Network and no internet connection).

Where do I go from here? I'm leery of the DNS address I keep seeing in ipconfig/all... It keeps showing me the same address as my gateway. And this is at the very top "Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hitronhub.home"... Makes me think my combo is spitting out weird DNS stuff that the 87U can't handle. Any suggestions how I should proceed or what to try next? Did I simply miss a step?

Also I'm running the most current ASUS stock firmware. (I know I need to flash to merlin soon).