What's new

Home Network Rebuild

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

IainStott

New Around Here
Hi guys, I'm looking for a bit of advice. I also have no clue where to post this so you looked like the best first port of call.

This is gonna be long so I apologise in advance for that.

Computing is a hobby for me, I'm a chef by trade, but love playing with anything electrical. Everything I have done has been self taught, and I have no professional experience whatsoever in it. With this hobby, I suspect my little network isn't setup in the best/most efficient/most secure way in the world. So I would like to rebuild it to be as secure and as efficient as it could be my skills and knowledge permitting.

The hardware consists of 3x raspberry pi, 1x banana pi r1, 1x atx pc, 1x virgin cable modem, 1x netgear router flashed with ddwrt and 1x Gbps Switch, all in a custom cabinet under my TV. There is more going into the switch from elsewhere, but they wont have web facing services on them.

I have, over the past couple of years had setup everything (except a proper firewall) I want to accomplish again, and most if not all is still working, but after two years playing, realising the error of my ways and more importantly, a recent addition of a full atx pc, plus rewiring and adapting the enclosure, i've decided its time to reconfigure all software.

The Virgin Modem goes into the DDWRT router, which then goes into the switch
The 3 raspberry pi's go into the Banana PI R1, on a seperate subnet to the rest of my home network, The BPi R1 then goes into the switch.
The Atx has 2 network ports, both go directly to the switch.

In my head I'm thinking of spreading the services across the machines like so
Router = DHCP Wifi