What's new

Home Networking Lab Setup

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Mark91

New Around Here
Hi, I'm new to this forum! Looking forward to being a part of the community :) and I'm also a new IT Networking student...would like some suggestions for what I'm trying to do.

I bought two Dell Precision 490's with a bunch of RAM on both, and intend to set them up with virtual machines to learn networking and administration. The guy I bought from also gave me two Netgear switches, an old Juniper SSG 5 and a Cisco 1800 Series Router. I've been reading here and there about both, and was able to reset the SSG 5 password so now I have admin on it but I still don't fully understand what I can do with all this equipment.

I have a Motorola SBG6580 connected to cable, and first what I would like to do is be able to host VMs and mess around without exposing the entire network to potential outside threats but still have everything accessible internally. Then get the SSG 5 firewall up, tinker with the switches, etc.

If someone could point me to some useful guides, provide some tips/tricks, or just general info it would be much appreciated.

Thanks

The guy I bought from also gave me two Netgear switches, an old Juniper SSG 5 and a Cisco 1800 Series Router. I've been reading here and there about both, and was able to reset the SSG 5 password so now I have admin on it but I still don't fully understand what I can do with all this equipment.