What's new

Home office network - planning. Please critique and help refine it

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jilebi

New Around Here
I am just beginning to plan a home office network. I have understood some concepts, but have also have manged to tie myself in knots. With some help from the experts here I am hoping to refine my network plan and implement it. Thanks you for all your help in advance.

First here is some basic information about this project:
  • Internet provider - Verizon FiOS (Fiber) 75/75 (can increase this as needed
  • Need the Verizon router for TV program guide, etc. -- Cannot rid this completely.
  • The home has 3 levels - basement, floor 1 and floor 2. There are 2 cat5e cables running between the basement and floor 1 (not terminated, yet)
  • Currently I am building a server / nas (based on Supermicro C2750 board) for home and office 2 use. I am planning on locating this on Floor 1.
  • Office 1 will get its own server in the near future
Existing setup:
  • No vlans' etc. Most of the devices are connected on wireless to the Verizon router
  • No servers, nas, etc.
  • VoIP - a tangle of wires to say the least. Office 1 has 4 (adapters and) cordless phones; and the home has 1 (adapter and) cordless phone all of them are connected to the Verizon router. It is a mass of wires and cables between the router, surge protector...etc.
  • All the equipment is in the basement.
  • Lot of wifi dead zones on Floor 1; limited wifi on Floor 2
Proposed setup:
  • Goals: Separate home, guest, voip and (two) office (office 1 and office 2) networks
  • Goals: Share common resources such as printer between the home and office network
  • Plan (please see the attachment):