What's new

How do i split traffic between PPTP VPN and WAN interface

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

tomsk

Very Senior Member
Hi There. This question has resulted from my attempting to make a DDNS script work through double NAT while i have a VPN client running http://www.snbforums.com/threads/double-nat-custom-ddns-script.34431/
I thought i could route the traffic to the websites where the curl command is grabbing the IP addresses through the WAN and leave the rest of the traffic going through the VPN
I have very little knowledge of iptables and found this script for tomato. I think i could make it work for my Asus-merlin setup.
However i am a little concerned about turning off reverse path filtering.... reading up a little on it seems it would be something you would want to have.

Code:
# This code goes in the WAN UP section of the Tomato GUI.
# This code based on the contributions from this thread:
#  http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threads/route-only-specific-ports-through-vpn-openvpn.37240/
#
# And from material in these articles:
#  http://linux-ip.net/html/adv-multi-internet.html
#  http://fedorasolved.org/Members/kanarip/iptables-howto
#
# This script configures "selective" VPN routing. Normally Tomato will route ALL traffic out
# the OpenVPN tunnel. These changes to iptables allow some outbound traffic to use the VPN, and some
# traffic to bypass the VPN and use the regular Internet instead.
#
#  To list the current rules on the router, issue the command:
#      iptables -t mangle -L PREROUTING
#
#  Flush/reset all the rules to default by issuing the command:
#      iptables -t mangle -F PREROUTING
#
#
# First it is necessary to disable Reverse Path Filtering on all
# current and future network interfaces: