What's new

How to build a LAN without internet for volunteer NGO in Africa

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

WarrenTee

New Around Here
Hello. I am new to SNB. If posted in wrong section, please advise.
My story:
Would like to set up an Intranet without internet.
I volunteer with a small NGO in Tanzania, providing direct medical care. Currently all our processes are with pen and paper.
We have no internet access. We have access to electricity at the end of the work day. We have access to 12V (car/truck) power during the day.
On average each day we will assess 300-400 clients with one chart (8.5" x 8.0") that includes probably up to 200 datapoints.
Clients stream through the various stations - registration, health assessment, medical, dental, optometry, testing, education and pharmacy. Their chart is updated at each station.
I envision a laptop and router to act as a server, a webpage being the chart, and being accessed (retrieved, edited and re-written) by up to 12 to 15 tablets (or small computers) (at up to 8-10 stations) used by the medical providers.
(I envision the laptop to store the various databases we use in clinical decision making. That would be a bonus.)
My key point: a client chart that is accessible by tablet or notebook, on the intranet/lan, continually updated. And of course, printable at the end for client take-away.
Where do I start? What do I need?
Happy to receive your general and specific steps to make this project work for our clients and our volunteers.

Attachments

• SNB Chart.pdf
    231.8 KB · Views: 261