What's new

Initializing a new HDD in DS215j

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

GeneJockey

Occasional Visitor
I have just purchased my first ever NAS - a DS215j although it has yet to arrive at my door :)

But I thought I would do a bit of advanced homework and preparation since I have no experience with Linux in general or DSM in particular. I have no problem in experimenting and learning by hands-on, but I want to get off on the right foot when I install the HDD the very first time.

For now I am planning to use only a SINGLE 3TB drive. The second bay will be empty and is for future expansion. Obviously this will not be a RAID setup therefore, and frankly I don't really need that for what I want to do in the near term.

My questions pertain to how to initialize/set up the single HDD in the first place. Will I be able to create on the HD multiple 'partitions' (as in the functional equivalent of windows extended partitions or logical volumes etc). I am just very unsure of what the 'file structure' in DSM 5.1 looks like. I hope I am asking this the right way but I'm sure you get the idea - can I subdivide the 3TB drive into 'functional' sections that can be for different types of uses - a section for media, a section for backups etc.

Since I don't even have the NAS yet I do not expect a step-by-step instruction but perhaps a general answer or better yet, pointing me to a tutorial or similar already established that can answer the questions. I have done some Google searching but so far I am not very clear on what they are telling me...

Good deal!

The new NAS, using its startup code in its flash, will discover the uninitialized drive and init it. Then put all the DSM system on it.