Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Lion Breaks Time Machine NASes

Discussion in 'NAS Article Discussions' started by vnangia, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. vnangia

    vnangia Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Washington, DC, USA
    Tim, any word on HP? The kexts that make it possible to connect Macs to the Mediasmart appear to be broken - perhaps 32bit/64bit issues, nothing serious. Any chance they can offer a recompiled version?
     
  2. FromageTheDog

    FromageTheDog Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    I'm amazed how uniformly lacking support for Lion + Time Machine has been across the various NAS manufacturers. Lion has been in beta for how long? And they couldn't have a fix ready for release day? Pathetic.

    At least Netgear made half an effort and had their newer x86-based stuff up to snuff. But their sparc-based userbase got the shaft (again).
     
  3. js.opdebeeck

    js.opdebeeck New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    I confirm the issue with a LaCie Nas (LaCie Network Space MAX).

    How can this *#@! has not been tested ...
     
  4. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    10,806
    I've added info to the chart in the article. Basically, there may be a third party solution coming. No definite timeframe.
     
  5. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    10,806
    Updated article with link to info.
     
  6. FromageTheDog

    FromageTheDog Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    Looks like my vitriol wasn't entirely warranted: Netgear posted a firmware update -- a beta release -- for sparc (600/Duo/NV/NV+) users today that resolves the Lion issues.
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011
  7. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    10,806
    Thanks, Fromage. I've updated the article with a link.
     
  8. FromageTheDog

    FromageTheDog Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    Just a follow-up note: many users are noting in this thread on the ReadyNAS forums that a final manual reboot -- after the update process itself reboots the machine -- is required before everything starts working properly.

    Be warned: the add-on installation process appears to be broken with this beta release.
     
  9. philby

    philby New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    LaCie is not fixed

    Actually, while there are some software updates available from laCie for Lion compatibility, TimeMachine is not among them, I think.

    The linked LaCie support page says
    "Cause: The LaCie NAS OS does not support Time Machine with Mac OS X Lion.
    Solution: Use Mac OS X 10.6.x or earlier when using Time Machine to back up your Mac to a LaCie network hard drive."

    (Which I find to be an extremely poor answer by the way).


    On the other hand, I read on a WD support forum that they're working on a solution, and a firmware update for the WD live NAS series should appear in the next few weeks.
     
  10. TimeMachineGeek

    TimeMachineGeek New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Now that i have upgraded to Lion i am no longer able to backup to my NAS drive with time machine. I happened to come across dollydrive.com ,,,

    There I was able to start a fresh Time machine backup in the cloud,,, They also provide a cloning functionality :)
     
  11. mikedard

    mikedard New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    El Dorado Hills, CA
    I have a LaCie Big5 NAS and LaCie is saying it may not be fixed!!
     
  12. Unregistered

    Unregistered Guest

    Network Space Max

    I have a Network Space Max and while LaCie lists it on their web site under this page, there is no update listed for it. Has anyone heard anything about a third party solution for LaCie?
     

Share This Page