Looking for media server

Discussion in 'DIY' started by N49ATV, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. N49ATV

    N49ATV New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Well, im looking at media NAS setups. Most prebuilt seem pretty pricy for what you get. So im looking at doing my own, and trying to learn OS setups.

    I dont know the hardware I will actually need HP wise, but thats why im here. Ill post my goals, and what hardware I was thinking of.

    Id like a media server. I am currently over half full on my WD Mybook Live 3tb nas. I still have a lot of BD ISOs to rip, and then all the DVD ISOs. Also I may need to re-encode kids films for ATV3 (as I dont expect a jailbreak). Id expect to need 6-7TB just for current movies in ISO form. Then possible re-encoded for ATV of all sons shows. Music is pretty minute.

    Ill be going to whole house A/V on my next home (in the market, most likely a custom build). I will have whole house video via most likely a HDAnywhere Multiroom+. I currently own 1 HDi Dune D1, and plan on a 2nd (hence the ISOs). I will also have iTunes and automation software on a mac mini (id imagine). So the mac could access the NAS for storage.

    Id like to be able to stream 2 BD at once, so about 100mb/s. I also may need enough CPU to transcode on the fly, if I want to stream to different boxes/TVs if ISO isnt available. Though im not sure i really need this. I will most likely leave my 3TB WD MBL as a business backup for my accountant etc, to grab invoices etc from.

    Here is what I was looking at. As I priced out different synology's etc, I found for thier cost, I could build a much more powerful machine, that will have more power draw (tough to match the idle watts of these units), but nothing crazy like leaving my current PC running 24/7 for itunes. Also there is no set budget, but I dont know what I need, so components and budgets can change.

    Case: Not sure, I was looking at...
    Fractal Design Define R4. Clean look, decent cooling, and room for 10 3.5 HDD, and some SSDs.

    Also considering something in a 4U, just for future expansion, maybe 16-24 bay. I may have access to a rack, which I could put my Dunes in, my multiroom+ etc in.

    Motherboard: Tyan S5512
    Looking at this board for a few reasons. ECC, onboard video chipset, dual intel NIC, and onboard LSI2008 SAS controller, with 8 SAS ports, +6 SATA
    Tyan Product page

    Ram: Kingston ECC 1x8GB DDR3-1333
    This isnt necessarily the ram, but something similar. DDR3-1333, ECC, Registered. Easy to add 3 more sticks for 32GB.

    CPU: Xeon 1230 v2
    Quad Core, HT, ECC, 69W. Was looking at this over the 1220 for HT. Could also swap out for a i3 2100 series, and support ECC if the CPU power isnt really needed, and save a bit of cash.

    Cooler: Hyper 212+
    Should keep it a bit quieter then OEM HS+F, and its cheap

    PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650
    Might be a bit big, but should be able to give me room to expand.

    HDD: WD Red 3tb
    NAS drives, if they arent DOA, it seems they are lasting well. Not that Ill have business server level demands. But I have seen a lot of complaints about green drives.

    What do you think? Obviously, it may be complete overkill. I really have never dabbled in the server world. Only desktop PC building. I was thinking of running NAS4Free, or FreeBSD off a USB stick. I like the idea of ZFS ECC, though dislike how I cant just stick in a few more drives, and expand. Id have to create new pools, or back it all up, and re setup server. I

    Im completely open to suggestions, a completely different build, just figured I could get a lot more machine for my money, then say a synology 8bay. As the hardware (not including 4U, just if I use R4), is the same price, or a little less then an 8bay Synology, and should have more data throughput over network, as I have seen reports of low speeds from box NAS.

    Still reading about ZFS, and learning. Though its a memory hog, throwing 32GB in wont be an issue, though it seems SSD Caching is much better. Either way is an option if needed.
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,549
    You are going to find the transcoding video on the fly requirement the toughest to meet. There are no out-of-box or even open-source solutions I know of that do this.

    Yes, ZFS is a memory hog and will result in lower throughput. Fortunately, you don't need much CPU power to stream two uncompressed blu-ray streams. 100 Mbps is 12.5 MB/s, which even your WD Mybook Live could probably do, assuming it wasn't running a UPnP/DLNA index at the same time.

    And what are you planning for back up?
     
  4. N49ATV

    N49ATV New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    No, I need 100MB/s. as I hit 35-50MB/s on a single.

    I don't plan on much of a backup. I was just gonna do raid. I know it's not a backup, but I have the discs to re-rip. It's just a time thing. It's a lot to rip that many BDs. I was thinking zfs raid, and using ECC, so shouldn't be an issue
     
  5. N49ATV

    N49ATV New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    So if some form of jukebox cant transcode on the fly to mp4, and trick itunes, ill need to run a second copy of a lot of movies (kid friendly) in mp4 format, obviously smaller.

    So is a xeon needed or wanted? Would I be better going with a i3 2120, or T series? I will still get ECC from what I gather.
     
  6. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,549
    You may have your bits and Bytes mixed. http://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=3338

    RAID, ZFS, ECC won't save you from fire, theft or controller failure. None of these is a substitute for backup.
     
  7. N49ATV

    N49ATV New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Yes, it appears I have. Musta just read it wrong. Also did some math to back it up. Rio is 1:36 long, and 26000MB. Turns out its 4MB/s for Rio (was easy to use for example calculation, as the main movie is 1 m2ts)

    So i guess my question is, should I build this big of a server, or just buy something else, and swap cases? Or downgrade to an i3? Or consider something completely different.
     

Share This Page