What's new

Looking to replace RT-AC66U

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Edward Schreibman

New Around Here
Hi, am looking to replace my RT-AC66U router and do not need a wireless router at this location. Would move the AC66u into a wireless AP role.
Since I have no experience in choosing a wired router, thought I'd post what I need and see if anyone has any suggestions/ recommendations.

Situation is I have FIOS 75 Mbps/75 Mbps and have OpenVPN / QOS features turned on. Have had some issues with very high CPU usage, at one point pegging at 100% and killing the network (resolved with factory reset/ clear nvram).
I really don't want to go through the hassle of setting up the DHCP reservations, VPN, etc again, and am thinking I'd be better off with a router with a bit more CPU muscle.
I really want to be able to fully utilize the WAN and the LAN (about 10 clients) as hard as needed and not sacrifice stability.
Was looking at the RT-AC3200 primarily because of the Broadcom BCM4709A, then realized for the price, and not needing wireless for this device, I could do a lot better bang for the buck.
I need a router, with OpenVPN server, would like at least 4 Gigabit Ethernet ports .
Dont really need to hang off any USB storage, f it has it , thats fine.
Wouldn't mind additional ports, POE, but not a deal killer.
Any ideas, thoughs, solutions welcome!

For the price, I would still buy an AC1900 wireless router or higher. You just don't know what or how your needs change in the future.

The RT-AC68U or /P or the RT-AC87U would be my first choices. With the latter offering QoS at a different level than many other routers currently.