What's new

Making RT-AC87U my primary wireless source on Uverse

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

maddog-99

New Around Here
Team,

Im a noob here but somewhat smart on electronics.
And I need your help...

I have ATT Uverse gigabit ethernet with their stock (crap) wireless modem/router.

I bought the RT-AC87U & love that it has strong signal strength.
Now comes the moment of truth of setting up the RT unit to be my wireless source for all TVs, Cellphones, etc, in my home & to turn off the other.

But how do I do that?
Is it as simple as putting the RT into bridge mode & then hard wiring it to my ATT unit (while also disabling wireless on my ATT unit). I know I cant have both units doing DHCP & assigning IP addresses, but I dont specifically know what to do.

Can someone please help with directions on what configs I need to change.

Thank you

Chris

The best way to do this with Uverse is to put the AT&T Uverse modem in bridge mode or psuedo bridge mode and then just plug the Asus router from it's WAN port into one of the Uverse modem/gateway LAN Ethernet ports. There are several ways to do bridge mode type setup on the Uverse modem/gateway. It depends on the model of Uverse modem you are using. You will need to set the LAN IPs to be different. See these details below...

If you can't do a type of bridge mode on the Uverse gateway for some reason then you could put the Asus router as it's IP shows up in the Uverse settings in the DMZ (or DMZ+) of the AT&T modem (read DMZ instructions for the Uverse modem you are using) but you should be able to find the setting in the Uverse modem for a type of bridge mode pass through.