What's new

Merlin or stock firmware?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

neil0311

I've been using Merlin's firmware for about 10 years through various models of Asus router. My requirements for a router are very minimal and simple. I don't use VPN, or QoS, or any advanced features. I may setup an AIMesh with two routers, but that's as complicated as my use cases get.

I bought an AX88U for the WiFi 6 capabilities, and have been using the Merlin version of the ASUSWRT firmware on it, but wondering if I'd be better off just sticking with stock firmware at this point. It seems like Merlin now has to rationalize his dev work on multiple devices, and the stability benefits over the stock ASUS firmware aren't what they once were years ago.

Anyone have any thoughts on anything I'd be giving up going back to stock firmware, or anything to be aware of given I haven't used stock firmware in a long time?

You decide what YOU need most: my features, or Asus, latest features. It depends on your personal needs.

Sent from my ELE-L04 using Tapatalk

Hi, even if you don't use 'advanced features' and all you need is supported by stock firmware I'd stick with Merlin because in case of problems you have a much more responsive platform to help you here... and you have the peace of mind of knowing that you can also go stock as a last resource. Plus eventually the 'latest features' end up in Merlin also in a couple of weeks.

In any case it is quite easy to swap from one to another, specially for simple installations as you described yours.

You decide what YOU need most: my features, or Asus, latest features. It depends on your personal needs.

Sent from my ELE-L04 using Tapatalk