What's new

Mikrotik and Slingshot Hack

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

coxhaus

Part of the Furniture
I saw this a about a week back and I have not seen any thing on this site about the problems with Mikrotik and slingshot. Did I miss it?

My understanding there is a big hack if you are not running the latest software and winbox software. I think there is a hack in the software and in winbox. The old winbox allows a hacker to install bad DLLs in a Windows PC to where you need to reinstall your Windows PC. I don't own a Mikrotik router so I am no expert. I think there are some experts on Mikrotik on this site. Maybe they can fill us in.

Last edited:
My understanding with this hack is if you ever used an old version of winbox you need to wipe your Windows PC and install from scratch. Slingshot has been out in the wild for a long time. So most Mikrotik routers have been infected. Slingshot loads DLLs on to the Mikrotik router which just sit there. Once the router is accessed with Winbox it loads the DLLs onto the Windows PC and it becomes infected.

It wasn't the router itself, it was the windows application that managed it...

Disclosure of that vulnerability actually impacted certain military activities in those regions

more specifically if you dont set your router rules right, a hacker will upload some files to it that is downloaded and run from winbox. So as long as your router is secured by the right rules you'll be fine.

It wasn't the router itself, it was the windows application that managed it...

Disclosure of that vulnerability actually impacted certain military activities in those regions

The router is where the bad DLLs were stored. Yes the windows application did the dirty deed with the bad DLLs.