Nas access

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by Computerguy, Feb 23, 2013.

  1. Computerguy

    Computerguy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Hey guys, I just bought this asus and I love it so far. There are 2 things I would like help with.

    1.the router will let me set up "guest" login for "USB Application - FTP Share" (aka. aicloud) but It will only let me log in as admin. Can someone maybe share what im doing wrong? I followed all the steps so and the admin login works great so I really don't know what im doing wrong.


    2. I have a cisco nas 200 that I just love. Is there anyway with this router to allow me to have access to it on the go? I have tried everything I know how to do and I just cant get it to work. I have a account with dyndns.com so I could port forward it but my last router did not allow for it so I need some very simple instruction.


    Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am on the latest's version of firmware.
     
  2. huotg01

    huotg01 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Montreal
    Sorry but I don't understand what you want to do .

    You mean that you want to access your NAS from outside your nerwork (LAN)? If it is the case, you can setup a VPN (VPN server in the menu).

    GH
     
  3. Computerguy

    Computerguy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Sorry let me be more clear about #1. I need to setup a guest account for my aicloud login. Right now only the administration login works. I set up a "guest" account but no matter what I do I can't login under it.

    A vpn network... Is There instructions on this? I have never set of one up.

    Thanks for the help.

    Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. oric1

    oric1 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    The current AiCloud version cannot add user, only admin can login.
     
  5. Computerguy

    Computerguy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Oh that explains it. It seems odd they let you add them on the router if it actually does not work.


    I have been looking into vpn's .. Will I have to set up software on every computer I want to access my nas drive on? I would like to just type a address like the aicloud. It seems not very practical to have to install and setup software every where I go.

    Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 2
     

Share This Page