What's new

NAS Speed

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jaydub

New Around Here
SATA 3 transfer rate is 600MB/s. A single WD Black 6TB HDD benchmarks in HDTune at about 200MB/s at the beginning of the drive. A SATA SSD almost saturates SATA 3. However, Gigabit LAN connection is only 125MB/s. Isn't a Gigabit LAN connection in a NAS setup a major bottleneck?

I'm a newbie, but I thought a NAS setup was generally attached to a network (hence network attached storage) , which would be dependent on a router, which is dependent on a Gigabit LAN connection. If this is true, then a big old raid setup in a NAS would be severely limited in speed, with Gigabit LAN being the weak link. Am I missing something...are my figures wrong?

Last edited:
Am I missing something...are my figures wrong?
thats why you gee a nas that supports link aggregation and a switch or router that also supports it and then you have twice the speed , something is always going to be the bottleneck and if 113 MB/s throughput isnt fast enough there are ways around it

thats why you gee a nas that supports link aggregation and a switch or router that also supports it and then you have twice the speed , something is always going to be the bottleneck and if 113 MB/s throughput isnt fast enough there are ways around it

But a single client, unless the client aggregates two ports (not common) will still see the same transfer rate..

Slowest link always wins in the throughput race...

But a single client, unless the client aggregates two ports (not common) will still see the same transfer rate..
agreed but then 2 clients can download at 113 MB/s or there abouts meaning the nas is not so much the bottleneck but the client ethernet is