NAS streaming advice

Discussion in 'NAS Buying Advice' started by Carnagerover, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Hi all,

    I currently have a 2 bay Netgear Readynas Duo V2, I am soon looking to upgrade to a 4 bay, does it matter what NAS I choose with regards to network streaming?

    Ideally I would like both SMB and NFS streaming, I use a Dune HD D1 which has my Bluray ISO files on and in the future I would like to be able to also steam 3D films which will require much higher bandwidth, the most I have seen on the Dune so far is 60Mbps.

    Any preferences for this type of use?
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,707
  4. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Thanks for the reply that is basically my experience of streaming files at the moment. Can be moving a file at 40MBps and still have enough left for 1080p. On the other hand when streaming a 60Mbps test file from my NAS to my Dune it stutters, however from my PC to the Dune it plays back fine. I can stream a 90Mbps file to the Dune using NFS from the Duo V2 and get no stuttering. I wonder if some are better than others with NFS and SMB. I realise that NFS is supposed to be more efficient than SMB with less overhead.
     
  5. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,707
    I can't speak to NFS. I only test SMB.
     
  6. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    From my testing both http and nfs are more efficient than SMB on popcorn hour, dune and boxee box. What I don't know though between Nas boxes is streaming potential, would one be better on SMB but terrible at NFS. I know you can run into problems on The Netgear I you start using addons and such it doesn't take much to saturate the CPU and Ram.

    More research needed for me
     
  7. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,633
    Location:
    San Diego
    Doctor! It hurts when I...
    "when streaming a 60Mbps test file from my NAS to my Dune it stutters"

    Dr. says: Well, don't do that!
     
  8. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    I have a Networking related question now if someone could help;

    Here is my current setup;

    Netgear R6300 > Netgear GS105

    My Media files are stored on a Readynas V2 Duo
    My Media player is a Dune HD D1

    If I plug both the Readynas and the Dune into the 6300 or into the Netgear GS105 I get stutter from my Bluray rips and my test files and I have to enable a special option on the Dune called fast SMB to get any sort of decent playback via SMB.

    However if I plug say the Readynas V2 into the R6300 and the Dune HD into the GS105 switch then my streaming problems go away and everything plays back really nice. SMB is great without enabling special options and all my test files playback perfectly.

    What is the reason for this? I thought that they would work better being in the same switch not different ones?
     
  9. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Anyone help with the above post, all devices seem to connect at full speed as they should, for example my PC connects Full Duplex 1GBps but the above problems occur.

    Is it a Netgear issue?

    Would this managed switch be a good solution;

    Netgear GS108T ProSafe 8 Port Gigabit Smart Switch
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
  10. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,633
    Location:
    San Diego
    all I can add is that the managed switch won't improve ethernet wire speeds.
     
  11. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,707
  12. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    I have a Netgear GS108T V2 coming hoping for better things. If nothing else at least I will be able to troubleshoot it a bit more from the GUI.

    Not sure why the R6300 is the same though
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  13. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    The new Netgear GS108 V2 Switch arrived today,

    Plugged all my wired devices into it, six including he patch cable to the router.

    First impressions are that it works much better, my 60Mbps SMB test file worked fine, my 90Mbps file would not playback smooth on NFS so I went onto the switch management page and enabled flow control. Once flow control was enabled the 90Mbps test file played back without a hitch. I'm not sure if I should enable anything else or not as this is the first manageable switch I have bought.

    Either way all seems good so far :)
     
  14. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,707
    I'm surprised you had to enable flow control. But I have no experience with NFS, so maybe it was needed. That's a GS108T V2, correct?

    I wouldn't muck with other settings now that you have things working.

    Thanks for the report.
     
  15. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    No worries at all and thanks,

    It is indeed the V2, I verified a few times just to be sure, but for 90Mbps you do need to enable Global Flow Control. Otherwise it will stutter on playback on the Dune, SMB tops out at 72Mbps.
     
  16. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Hi again,

    Just out of interest, I have got my files playing fine without flow control now. However looking on the Internet in general there seems to be conflicting information on its usefulness especially when using TCP as it has its own built in traffic management of sorts. There was an article on here from 2009 but like I say not to many definitive answers, other than the fact that it was off by default on the switch which tells its own story I suppose.
     
  17. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,633
    Location:
    San Diego
    Most streaming video/VoIP uses a variant of UDP/RTP. This does not use TCP but rather the basic datagram of IP. This protocol has no flow control.
    In popular RTP based systems, flow control and management, etc., is sometimes done with a separate TCP connection.
     
  18. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    When selecting NFS on the Dune you can choose TCP or UDP, using UDP my 90Mbps file stutters when using TCP it doesn't. I haven't tested it with flow control on as of yet.
     
  19. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,707
    Why use UDP is TCP works? Flow control applies only to TCP.
     
  20. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,707
    UDP for VoIP, yes. For non real time video like Netflix, no.

    http://blog.ioshints.info/2009/07/netflix-summary.html
     
  21. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    It was purely a test I am not using it, just to check if there was any difference between the switches.
     

Share This Page