What's new

Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 DST Router (R7300)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Has anybody (else) gotten this router?

I just picked up an open-box special off the Best Buy site. I've been using an Asus AC66u for a couple of years and started to get restless. I have had a dead spot in my kitchen that seems to be filled now with the included DST adapter. I've been interested in trying a Netgear since the reviews of the 6300 came out due to the increased speed of connected USB drives. Anyway, it seems to be going well so far. It just updated to the 1.0.6 32 firmware and I haven't seen any issues yet.

I'm wondering if anyone knows whether the r7000 DD-WRT firmware will work or if there are customizations related to the DST features that would make using the open source firmware problematic. . . I can't find very much discussion about these - just the r7000.

Has anybody (else) gotten this router?

I just picked up an open-box special off the Best Buy site. I've been using an Asus AC66u for a couple of years and started to get restless. I have had a dead spot in my kitchen that seems to be filled now with the included DST adapter. I've been interested in trying a Netgear since the reviews of the 6300 came out due to the increased speed of connected USB drives. Anyway, it seems to be going well so far. It just updated to the 1.0.6 32 firmware and I haven't seen any issues yet.

I'm wondering if anyone knows whether the r7000 DD-WRT firmware will work or if there are customizations related to the DST features that would make using the open source firmware problematic. . . I can't find very much discussion about these - just the r7000.