What's new

Network Advice

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

rk13

New Around Here
[COLOR=rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.701961)]Hi,

I'm a student at UC Berkeley currently living in a fraternity house with about 30 others. We recently set up a new network here but it's not performing well and was hoping that someone would be able to point me in the right direction. I think our biggest problem is the router we currently use but I'm not sure.

Comcast is our ISP and I think we are on a plan right now that's 100 Mbps. We have a Motorola SB 6141 modem and a
TP-LINK TL-R600VPN router. We have 2 Ubiquiti Unifi APs connected to the router and a TP-LINK TL-SG1008PE switch with an additional 6 Unifi APs connected to it (for a total of 8 APs). The house is 3 stories with the majority of people living on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Because of that, there are 2 APs on the first floor and 3 each on the 2nd and 3rd. Everything is connected via CAT6 cables that were put in place less than a year ago.

The network performs well during off hours when not many people are on it. However, with around 30 people living here and each person having multiple devices connected to the network, it slows down to a pretty much unusable speed during peak hours. The network used to have a total of 6 APs (each floor had 2) and we thought that maybe they were becoming congested so we added 1 more to each of the top 2 floors. That didn't solve the problem or really even make it slightly better, which is why I believe that the router is the main source of the problem (although now that I think about it, the switch could be a problem too). Am I correct, or is there something that I've overlooked?