What's new

Network Storage and backup suggestions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Spink

New Around Here
Hello,

I'm seeking your advice or suggestions about where to go from my current setup.

I have a WHSv1 for the last few years that's been working in my home office fine. A couple of days ago a drive failed. This resulted in 2 days + of down time. While the drive failure didn't cause any data loss, the down time has made me reconsider my current server and backup scheme.

I'm a part time professional photographer with aspersions of going full time within the next few years. Right now I generate around 50 gigs of data per job (guesstimation). Right now I work around 10 jobs a year. In the future I will be shooting more like 25 jobs a year. In addition to this, my wife and I work on a couple different computers. Centralized data helps us keep organized. I don't really download movies or anything like that, the bulk of my data comes in the form or raw camera data + the resulting exports.

Things that work well for me and I hold as important:

1) Automatic PC backups (both machines are windows 7)
2) Pool style storage so I can add space on the fly
3) Very low management time (I have a full time day job, a 2 year old, another one on the way on top of my photography business).
4) Easy backup process for the whole server. As it is, I backup regularly to 2 offsite locations manually on a regular basis. (backup is about 1TB of data so far, but this will start growing very quickly soon).

Things I'm not a fan of:

1) Custom setups that require time - I'm technical, but I just don't have the time to manage a complex system (although I've considered freenas and amahi and am currently checking them out under a virtualbox setup)